August 31, 2013

Erin Reviews: SOME LIKE IT SPICY (A Perfect Recipe 1) by Robbie Terman

SOME LIKE IT SPICY (A Perfect Recipe 1)  by Robbie Terman-Adult Contemporary Romance
Kindle format given by Entangled: Edge for review

Ashton Grey’s restaurant, Sweet Home, is in trouble. Months of empty tables have left her and her partners near bankruptcy, and her father’s prediction of her failure as a chef seems imminent. But a chance encounter could provide Ashton with the publicity she needs to save her restaurant—if the fiery chef is willing to compete on a reality cooking show. But in order to win, she needs to stay focused. No problem…until she meets the head judge.

Celebrity chef Ty Cates is ready to get away from the camera and back to the kitchen where he belongs. Performing as head judge on a reality show is just one more commitment he’d like to get out of, especially after he meets Ashton. Head judges dating contestants is about as taboo as putting ketchup on filet mignon, but from the moment they meet, there’s a simmering heat between them that neither can ignore.

As the competition heats up, they rely on sneaking around, stealing amazing night after amazing night together when the cameras aren’t rolling. When both realize what’s starting to feel like love could easily be a recipe for disaster, Ashton and Ty need to make a choice—get out of the kitchen or turn up the heat.

Sexy Summer Saturdays 8/31: Beautiful Bastard (Beautiful Bastard 1) & Beautiful Bitch (Beautiful Bastard 1.5) by Christina Lauren:Reviews


Sexy Summer Saturdays is a weekly meme created to spread the word about sizzling summer reads. 

Participating blogs:
The Autumn Review


*If you'd like to participate, let us know and we'd be happy to add you on!

August 30, 2013

Carry Your Heart (After Forever 1) by Audrey Bell: Review

Carry Your Heart (After Forever 1) by Audrey Bell-NA Contemporary Romance
Kindle format given by author for review

Champion skier Pippa Baker lost everything in the avalanche: her boyfriend, his best friend, and her will to win. After a year of grief, she returns to competition. 

She finds more than buried memories and steep slopes in Utah. She finds Hunter Dawson, a heartbreaking daredevil with the gold medals to prove it. And she finds that his reputation doesn’t stop her from falling hard, and that her heart might not be as broken as she once believed.

But, Hunter has scars and memories too—scars that make him believe falling in love might hurt too much, scars that make him run.

Pippa knows how much love hurts when it’s gone. Will she stop herself before she’s in too deep? Or will she let herself fall?



DRAGONFLY (Dragonfly 1) by Leigh Talbert Moore: Review

DRAGONFLY (Dragonfly 1) by Leigh Talbert Moore-Mature YA Contemporary Romance
Kindle format given by author for review

Three bad things I learned this year:-People you trust lie, even parents.
-That hot guy, the one who’s totally into you, he might not be the one.
-Things are not always how they appear.
Three good things I learned this year:-Best friends are always there for you, even when they’re far away.
-That other hot guy, the one who remembers your birthday, he just might be the one.
-Oh, and things are not always how they appear.


Anna Sanders expected an anonymous (and uneventful) senior year until she crossed paths with rich-and-sexy Jack Kyser and his twin sister Lucy.

Pulling Anna into their extravagant lifestyle on the Gulf Coast, Lucy pushed Anna outside her comfort zone, and Jack showed her feelings she’d never experienced... Until he mysteriously withdrew.

Anna turned to her internship at the city paper and to her old attraction for Julian, a handsome local artist and rising star, for distraction. But both led to her discovery of a decades-old secret closely guarded by the twins’ distant, single father.

A secret that could permanently change all their lives.

FLASHBACK FRIDAY 8/30: MIRANDA'S BIG MISTAKE by Jill Mansell


Flashback Fridays is a weekly meme that was created by The Autumn Review. If you'd like to participate, please see the guidelines below.
  • You have to have read the book at least one year ago. 
  • You can review or re-review your selection. 
  • You can simply do a book spotlight. (Cover, book description, author info, and buy links)
  • If you'd like to participate, please leave your link in comments. 

August 29, 2013

CONVERSION (Conversion 1) by S.C. Stephens: Review & Giveaway

Click on banner to see Blitz Schedule

CONVERSION (Conversion 1) by S.C. Stephens-Adult Paranormal Romance
Originally read on Fictionpress.com in 2012
Publication Date: September 3, 2013
Book Cover Design: Okay Creations
Event organized by: Literati Author Services, Inc.

Emma is happy. She's got a promising career in front of her, great friends, and a pretty amazing family. But her social life has been a little lacking lately. That's when fate stepped in, and crashed her into a tall, dark and handsome man. Sure, he has his secrets...don't we all, and, yeah, maybe his secrets are a little more unusual than most - like he's a partial vampire who can walk around during the day, but also enjoys a little plasma nightcap now and again - but to Emma, he's single, successful, and an extraordinary gentleman. That makes up for a lot. Of course, his condition is a bit more serious than he first lets on, and living a life with him will require some sacrifices that most just aren't willing to make. Will she? Is love enough to compensate for a life that will never be anywhere near the realm of normalcy? But then again...what's normal anyway?

SOUL RESURRECTED (Sons of Wrath, #2) by Keri Lake: Cover Reveal

SOUL RESURRECTED (Sons of Wrath, #2) by Keri Lake-Adult Paranormal Romance
Release Date: October 31, 2013
Cover Designer: David Wagner of Wagner LA Photography


As Wrath’s fiercest son, Logan carries the scars of fifty years spent in the most dreaded prison of the underworld, for a sin he’d kill to keep secret. Enduring decades of gruesome torture has left Logan feared by and detached from others, until a female Alexi’s blood resurrects his soul from death and, with it, the pleasures he’s been denied for so long.

Plagued by shame of her own, Calla is drawn to the ruthless demon, Logan, whose insatiable craving for her touch rouses buried passions and, for once, leaves her feeling desired.

A dark and dangerous evil has been reawakened, however, and when Calla is drawn too close to its breeding grounds, Logan vows to summon the violence of Wrath in order to keep her safe. First, though, Calla must save him from a past riddled with deceit and corruption … but only if she can accept the consequences of unveiling a grisly truth.

Sons of Wrath

Never gamble with vengeance …



The release date is OCTOBER 31ST, 2013 but in the meantime, you can add it to your GoodReads shelf!

Mark your calendars!

The blog tour for Soul Resurrected is scheduled to run:
November 6th – December 6th, 2013

Lots of prizes up for grabs! To keep abreast of the news, you can subscribe to my blog: http://www.kerilake.com/category/general/



SWOON Thursday 8/29: REDESIGNED (Off the Subject 2) by Denise Grover Swank



SWOON Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by YA Bound.

August 28, 2013

FOUR YEARS LATER by Monica Murphy Cover Reveal

FOUR YEARS LATER by Monica Murphy-NA Contemporary Romance
Scheduled to release: February 2014
This is Owen's (Fable's Brother) story!!!


ABOUT FOUR YEARS LATER (blurb subject to change):

Guilt. That is all I ever feel when I think about my mom. Now she's back in my life, always wanting something. Having her around makes it so easy for me to fall into those bad habits that get me into trouble. Skipping class, smoking weed, fooling around with girls that mean nothing to me...I'm messing up. The last thing I need is my sister on my case.

So I keep my mom's return a secret. But promising I'll get my grades back up on my own isn't enough. Fable makes me see a tutor. And Chelsea is the smartest girl I've ever met. She's definitely not my type but there's something about her that I'm drawn to. She's sweet, she's shy and she seems completely immune to my usual moves.

Chelsea has her own secrets and she's not talking. Like I have any room to judge. How can I get her to open up to me? And will I ever be able to convince her that what we have could be something real?

Erin Reviews: TAKE ME (Take A Chance 4) by Diane Alberts

TAKE ME (Take A Chance 4) by Diane Alberts-Adult Contemporary Romance
Kindle format given by Entangled: Ever After for review

Married in the morning…

Professional heartbreaker Mike Worth thrived on the chase—and dancer Morgan Collins represented the ultimate prize. But there was no way he was going to throw away his single-man status…not even for an elusive redhead with sparkling eyes and mile-long legs. So how did he let one drunken Vegas night end with I do instead of hell no?

Morgan’s life revolved around her career and she had no intention of letting a man interfere—even if Mike made her question all her rules about love. At his urging, she reluctantly agreed to give their spur-of–moment marriage a chance. But once their trial-honeymoon ended, would she choose to follow the dance and leave her unforgettable husband behind?

The Triangles Win a Frikkin' Cruise Sweepstakes!!


The Triangles

Win a Frikkin' Cruise

Sweepstakes!!

The Grand Prize Winner gets to go on a cruise!

Two runners-up will win $50 gift cards from Amazon (in US) or Book Depository (Worldwide).


What do you do?  

Buy Triangles! 


 
A cruise ship. A beautiful island. Two sexy guys. What could possibly go wrong?

In the Bermuda Triangle—a lot.

Hoping to leave behind the reminders of her crappy life--her father's death years ago, her mother's medical problems, and the loser who’s practically stalking her--seventeen-year-old Autumn Taylor hops on a ship with her sister for a little distraction. When she wakes up in the Bermuda Triangle, she fears she's gone nuts for more than one reason: that loser’s suddenly claiming they're a happy couple... a hot guy is wrapping his arms around her and saying "Happy Anniversary"... and suddenly, she’s full of bruises, losing her hair, and getting IV medication. Autumn visits the ship's doctor, hoping for a pill or a shot to make the craziness go away. Instead, she's warned that these "alternate realities" could become permanent.

She just has to ask herself one question—how the hell is she going to get out of this mess? 




You do not have to purchase Triangles in order to enter. 

You can draw yourself with the book or you can use a library copy for the picture (be creative)

with this form to Spencer Hill Press!  

They MUST have it by September 14th. 

Drawing on September 16th.





Waiting on Wednesday 8/28: THE KING (BDB 12) by J.R.Ward

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking The Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.

August 27, 2013

Teaser Tuesday 8/27: Everything For Us (Bad Boys 3) by M. Leighton + Giveaway

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.

Recklessly by A. J. Sand Release Celebration + Giveaway!



Celebrating the release of Recklessly by A. J. Sand, the author is offering great prizes and an excerpt from the book!

Recklessly by A.J. Sand-Mature New Adult/Adult Contemporary Romance 
Release date: August 28th, 2013 


Wes Elliott just met his match…and she might actually burn his entire world down. 

Surfing and sex. This is Wes Elliott's life. And it's just the way he likes it. ` After seeing his parents stay in a loveless marriage his entire life, and burying away a heartbreak from his past, he knows where romance is best left: crappy chick movies. He'd rather lust and eventually leave, and that's exactly what the plan was when he met Lana Langston. 

Except…turns out she’s only in it for the thrills, too. She's always only in it for the thrills: life in the literal fast lane on her motorcycle, and the hot nights in forbidden places without the awkward talks in the mornings after. She's Wes Elliott in way tighter jeans. 

So, this should be perfect, right? 

But the more time Wes spends with her, the more he wants the nights to turn into mornings. And maybe even longer. Suddenly, it isn't so perfect for him anymore. 

And the things he thought were buried are digging themselves up. 

Now Wes is in a lot of trouble. He’s falling in love with the one girl who might be a bigger risk than even a guy who gets barreled by the most dangerous waves in the world is willing to take on. 

Can Wes and Lana figure out a way to make it work? Or is he headed for something far more reckless? 

Due to the sexual content, language and violence, this work is not recommended for readers under 18.

   

Entangled Teen August 27 Release Party + Giveaway!

Welcome to the Entangled Teen August 27 release party! Today, we're celebrating the release of The Liberator by Victoria Scott, Relic by Renee Collins, Everlast by Andria Buchanan, Ward Against Darkness by Melanie Card, and Origin by Jennifer L. Armentrout!

The Liberator by Victoria Scott

Bad boy, meet bad girl.

Dante has a shiny new cuff wrapped around his ankle, and he doesn't like that mess one bit. His new accessory comes straight from Big Guy himself and marks the former demon as a liberator. Despite his gritty past and bad boy ways, Dante Walker has been granted a second chance.

When Dante is given his first mission as a liberator to save the soul of seventeen-year-old Aspen, he knows heís got this. But Aspen reminds him of the rebellious life he used to live and is making it difficult to resist sinful temptations. Though Dante is committed to living clean for his girlfriend Charlie, this dudeís been a playboy for far too longÖand old demons die hard.

With Charlie becoming the girl she was never able to be pre-makeover and Aspen showing him how delicious it feels to embrace his inner beast, Dante will have to go somewhere he never thought heíd return to in order to accomplish the impossible: save the girl heís been assigned to, and keep the girl he loves.


Victoria Scott: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

 

Relic by Renee Collins

After a raging fire consumes her town and kills her parents, Maggie Davis is on her own to protect her younger sister and survive best she can in the Colorado town of Burning Mesa. In Maggieís world, the bones of long-extinct magical creatures such as dragons and sirens are mined and traded for their residual magical elements, and harnessing these relicsí powers allows the user to wield fire, turn invisible, or heal even the worst of injuries.

Working in a local saloon, Maggie befriends the spirited showgirl Adelaide and falls for the roguish cowboy Landon. But when she proves to have a particular skill at harnessing the relicsí powers, Maggie is whisked away to the glamorous hacienda of ¡lvar Castilla, the wealthy young relic baron who runs Burning Mesa. Though his intentions arenít always clear, ¡lvar trains Maggie in the world of relic magic. But when the mysterious fires reappear in their neighboring towns, Maggie must discover who is channeling relic magic for evil before itís too late.

Relic is a thrilling adventure set in a wholly unique world, and a spell-binding story of love, trust, and the power of good.


Renee Collins: Website | Twitter | Goodreads



Everlast by Andria Buchanan

Allie Munroe has only ever wanted to belong, maybe even be well liked. But even though sheís nice and smart and has a couple of friends, sheís still pretty much the invisible girl at school. So when the chance to work with her friends and some of the popular kids on an English project comes up, Allie jumps at the chance to be noticed.

And her plan would have worked out just fineÖif they hadnít been sucked into a magical realm through a dusty old book of fairy tales in the middle of the library.

Now, Allie and her classmates are stuck in Nerissette, a world where karma rules and your social status is determined by what you deserve. Which makes a misfit like Allie the Crown Princess, and her archrival the scullery maid. And the only way out is for Allie to rally and lead the people of Nerissette against the evil forces that threaten their very existence.


Andria Buchanan: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads



Ward Against Darkness by Melanie Card

The last thing Ward de'Ath wants is more trouble. On the run from both the law and the criminal underworld, Ward and Celia flee Brawenal City only to stumble into the mansion of a powerful evil necromancer. And when Ward discovers the man possesses a dangerous grimoire, his duty leaves him no choice. He can't allow the necromancer to keep the grimoire. But the mansion is filled with monsters--human and undead--and Ward has no way of telling who's friend or foe. The only person he can trust is Celia who dominates more of his thoughts and feelings everyday. But there are still laws in the way of anything but friendship. She's still dead and he's still alive . . . for now.


Melanie Card: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

 

Origin by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Daemon will do anything to get Katy back.

After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, heís facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. Taking out anyone who stands in his way? Done. Burning down the whole world to save her? Gladly. Exposing his alien race to the world? With pleasure.

All Katy can do is survive.

Surrounded by enemies, the only way she can come out of this is to adapt. After all, there are sides of Daedalus that donít seem entirely crazy, but the groupís goals are frightening and the truths they speak even more disturbing. Who are the real bad guys? Daedalus? Mankind? Or the Luxen?

Together, they can face anything.

But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on?

And will they even be together?


Jennifer L. Armentrout: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads


Giveaway

To celebrate the new releases, Entangled is giving away a paperback copy of each book. Enter using the Rafflecopter below!

a Rafflecopter giveaway




August 26, 2013

BLISS Anniversary Celebration + Giveaway!


It’s been an amazing year as Bliss released over 20 titles and have plenty in store for everyone going forward. Bliss couldn’t have gotten to where it is without all of the wonderful readers out there.

To say thank you and welcome to new readers August will be filled with special events. Here is the lowdown for the #BlissBall celebration:

· Blogger Love: August 19-30: Of course we think Bliss books are so sweet and sassy that readers can't help but love 'em but don’t just take our word for it. Fans will be posting why they love Bliss books and readers will have a chance to win a "Sweet" grand prize package. Follow Bliss on Facebook for each stop.

· Bliss Ball Facebook Parties: Join Bliss for not one but two Facebook parties with the lovely Bliss authors. August 27 and August 29 from 8-10pm EST we will be chatting with Bliss authors, readers and there will be more great prizes to win!

Check out our full list of Bliss books and come ready to party and win!


I absolutely love Bliss books. They're they type of books I like to pick up when I'm looking for a short, romantic read. Here are some of my favorite titles from Bliss.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

August 25, 2013

Erin Reviews: HEAVY METAL (Goddess Rising 2) by Natalie J. Damschroder

HEAVY METAL (Goddess Rising 2) by Natalie J. Damschroder-Adult Paranormal/Fantasy Romance
Kindle format given by Entangled Publishing for Review


The world is not what Riley Kordek imagined. On the run from those who’ve targeted her, all Riley wants is a chance to figure out her new ability to bend metal's energy. When a hot guy who knows more than he should helps her escape her attackers, she thinks she might’ve found someone who can lead her to the answers she needs.

Three years ago, Sam Remington walked away from his employer and the woman he loved, and now, all he’s looking to do is fill the gaping hole left behind. Except, when Sam takes Riley to the Society for Goddess Education and Defense, the stakes rise beyond what either of them could have imagined.

After being alone for so long, falling for Sam would be far too easy—and far too painful, once his old flame calls needing his help. Worse, Riley uncovers a plot with disastrous ramifications not only for herself, but for Sam and the people he loves—and potentially every goddess in the country.


A Week with Autumn 8/25

These are the books and goodies I received in the mail this past week. I may not get to post reviews on the blog for all the books, but this is a great way of getting Authors/books names out there. I've decided to join in on Tynga's Reviews weekly meme called Stacking the Shelves. Make sure to stop by her blog to see the other participants!


If you can believe it, I didn't take anything for review this week. I was also very good about not buying anything (at least for myself)! I'm working hard at trying to complete the review requests that I already have by the end of the year. So, I may not have much coming in over the next few months. Hope you all have a great week!

Last Week's Reviews