April 30, 2013

Waiting on Forever (The Forever Series 2) by Ashley Wilcox Review & Giveaway

Waiting on Forever (The Forever Series 2) by Ashley Wilcox-NA Contemporary Romance
Kindle format given by author for review/blog tour


College.
Parties, sororities and getting drunk.
Oh, yeah. And learning.

This may be true for most college students, but not for Leah Bennett. College life for her includes studying, working, and excelling in school. When it comes to the social ladder, Leah is at the bottom. Popular girls, hot guys and star athletes are of no importance to her, except for one.

Matthew Jacobs.
Matt is the starting wide receiver at SUNY Cortland, the most wanted guy on campus and Leah’s best friend. Although Leah’s feelings toward Matt run deeper than just a friendship, it is something she would never let be seen because the odds of someone like Matthew Jacobs going for someone like Leah Bennett are slim to none.


When Matt starts showing an interest in Leah that goes beyond friendship, she is dumbfounded and doesn’t believe it is possible – until one weekend that changes everything.

Will Matt and Leah’s popularity status get in the way of having a chance at a real relationship?

Or does status mean nothing when it comes to true love?

Teaser Tuesday 4/30: Until I Break by M. Leighton

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.

Beauty from Surrender (Beauty 2) by Georgia Cates Cover Reveal

Beauty from Surrender (Beauty #2) by Georgia Cates-Adult Contemporary Romance

Cover Designer: Georgia Cates
Expected release date: May 30, 2013


The story of Jack Henry and Laurelyn continues... How do you move on when he’s every song you sing? After Laurelyn Prescott walks away from the love of her life, she returns to Nashville to pursue the only dream she has left. Determined to find a distraction from the pain of losing Jack Henry, she immerses herself in her music. But with her old life comes old acquaintances and new expectations. When Laurelyn refuses her record producer’s outrageous demands, she finds herself without a career—until an unforeseen opportunity presents itself. From there it’s a rocket ride straight to the top where Laurelyn finds the success she’s always dreamed of. Will it be enough to bring her the happiness she so deserves, or will the absence of Jack Henry leave her wanting more? Jack Henry McLachlan never expected to fall in love with Laurelyn Prescott—but he did. After he foolishly let her slip through his fingers, he spends three months searching for her, but their reunion doesn’t come easy. The woman he finds isn’t the same one who drifted away without a goodbye. No longer an insecure girl on an Australian adventure, this Laurelyn is a successful musician with a promising career. Her dreams are becoming a reality, and Jack is terrified his American girl won’t have a place for him in her new life. With only a month to convince her otherwise, will it be enough time to make her visualize a life beyond the glitz and glamour, a life that includes him? 

ABEL (5th Street #4) by Elizabeth Reyes Cover Reveal and Excerpt

ABEL (5th Street #4) by Elizabeth Reyes
Scheduled to release later this year!

April 29, 2013

ROCK MY BED (Black Falcon 2) by Michelle A. Valentine Review & Giveaway

Click on banner to follow the tour


Everything always seems to fall into place for twenty-four year-old Aubrey Jenson, except for when it comes to her luck with men. Bad boys always draw her in and crush her heart, and Black Falcon’s lead guitarist, Riff, is no exception. After sharing a few wild nights together, she leaves him behind; knowing a guy like Riff isn’t the relationship type, merely just a play thing. 

When she returns to New York, she tries to get the passion she felt in Riff’s arms out of her head by dating Isaac, a successful representative at Center Stage Marketing. Just when she thinks she’s forgotten Riff, she’s forced to see him again when her best friend, Lanie, ropes her into being a bridesmaid for her upcoming wedding to Black Falcon front man, Noel.

Sparks fly instantly between Aubrey and Riff when they’re forced to reunite, and suddenly she finds herself caught between the man that’s good for her and the one who completely rocks her in every way.

**New Adult Romance--Book 2 in the Black Falcon series. This book can be read without reading book one.**

Until I Break by M. Leighton Cover Reveal

Until I Break by M. Leighton-Adult Contemporary Romance
Scheduled to release in May 14, 2013


In love, sometimes what you fear most is exactly what you need. 

Laura Drake is an author. She writes bestselling paranormal romances that continue to top the charts. She is sharp. She is confident. She is in control. 
And she doesn’t exist.

Samantha Jansen is the woman behind the wig, the woman most of the world doesn’t know exists. She is shy. She is insecure. She is nothing like her main character or her alter ego. She is scarred—deeply scarred—by a past she can’t let go of and a present she can’t make peace with.

Samantha’s dreams are consumed by one man, the broken hero from her books. Mason Strait is both her wildest fantasy and her most terrifying nightmare.

When Samantha meets Alec Brand, a corporate consultant, it is as though Mason has come to life. Alec is handsome to a fault, as elegant as he is arrogant, and more intense than any man has a right to be.

Samantha is soon sucked into a world that mirrors the fiction she writes. Just like her main character, Daire Kirby, Samantha finds herself unable to resist the forbidden lure of Alec. And just like Daire, she also finds that she is faced with taking a chance on a man who could either set her free or destroy her.

The scale tilts toward destruction when Samantha finds out that Alec is as much a work of fiction as Mason. And he has scars of his own, scars that could ruin them both.




About the Author:

I was born and raised in the United States, and I’ve lived in several of the fabulous fifty. Though I currently live in the deep South, I spent much of my childhood up North and hope to return there one day. A few other things about me: I believe that sometimes you have to look really, REALLY hard to find the good in people, but it's there. I believe that I'm shrinking (I swear five years ago I was two inches taller). I believe my husband is quite possibly one of the most amazing men in the entire world (I can't be sure because I haven't met all of them). I believe coffee and chocolate, when combined, could be the basis for world peace. I believe that Jesus rocks and communism doesn’t. I believe that white makes me look fat and black collects lint. I believe summer's too hot, winter's too cold and fall was made for football. I like dogs better than cats and the first movie in a trilogy is invariably the best. But most of all, I believe that love conquers all.

Of Silver and Beasts by Trisha Wolfe Book Blitz Excerpt & Giveaway


April 28, 2013

Suddenly Royal by Nichole Chase Review & Giveaway




Suddenly Royal by Nichole Chase-NA Contemporary Romance
Kindle format given by author for review


Samantha Rousseau is used to getting her hands dirty. Working toward a master’s degree in wildlife biology while helping take care of her sick father, she has no time for celebrity gossip, designer clothes, or lazy vacations. So when a duchess from the small country of Lilaria invites her to dinner, Samantha assumes it’s to discuss a donation for the program. The truth will change the course of her life in ways she never dreamed.Alex D’Lynsal is trying to keep his name clean. As crown prince of Lilaria, he’s had his share of scandalous headlines, but the latest pictures have sent him packing to America and forced him to swear off women—especially women in the public eye. That is, until he meets Samantha Rousseau. She’s stubborn, feisty, and incredibly sexy. Not to mention heiress to an estate in his country, which makes her everyone’s front-page news.While Sam tries to navigate the new world of politics and wealth, she will also have to dodge her growing feelings for Alex. Giving in to them means more than just falling in love; it would mean accepting the weight of an entire country on her shoulders.

Emancipating Andie by Priscilla Glenn Guest Post & Giveaway

Emancipating Andie by Priscilla Glenn-Adult Contemporary Romance  
Release date: April 27, 2013 


Ever since the one time Andie Weber threw caution to the wind - and paid the price for it - she’s learned that it’s safer and smarter to live life playing by the rules. Now she’s got a great apartment, a steady job, and a wonderful boyfriend in Colin; he’s sweet, stable, and essentially perfect – except maybe for the fact that his best friend is Chase.

Chase McGuire lives his carefree, unstructured life strictly for himself. Dripping sarcasm and oozing wit, he refuses to censor his feelings or opinions for anyone, making no apologies for either and wearing his abrasiveness like a badge of honor. No one has ever gotten under Andie’s skin the way Chase does – and vice versa.

So when Andie and Chase find themselves forced to take a two-day road trip together, they are already dreading an inevitable all-out war. But as the trip progresses, and the undeniable friction that has always defined their relationship slowly begins to wear away their preconceived notions of each other, Andie and Chase discover they both have a lot to learn about life, courage, happiness, and the age-old battle between logic and love.

SLOW NO WAKE by Dakota Madison Excerpt & Giveaway

Slow No Wake by Dakota Madison-New Adult/Adult  Contemporary
Publisher: Short on Time Books 
Release date: April 1, 2013 


After finding her sister in bed with her fiancĂ©, 25-year old Lexie Wilkins decides to relocate to southwest Florida to start a new life and escape relationships all together. What she doesn’t expect to find are two attractive kite surfers, who both want her.
So much for Lexie’s vow for her fresh start in Florida: a no wake zone. Having two guys in her life is sure to make waves.
Eddie is the captivating bad boy, who lives next door. Daniel is Lexie’s sweet and ruggedly handsome co-worker. The differences between the two men are just as extreme as their sport…

Who will she choose?

A Week with Autumn 4/28

These are the books and goodies I received in the mail this past week. I may not get to post reviews on the blog for all the books, but this is a great way of getting Authors/books names out there. I've decided to join in on Tynga's Reviews weekly meme called Stacking the Shelves. Make sure to stop by her blog to see the other participants!

April 27, 2013

THIS GIRL (Slammed 3) by Colleen Hoover Review & Givaway

THIS GIRL (Slammed 3)  by Colleen Hoover-NA Contemporary Romance
Kindle format given by author for review/ARC

There are two sides to every love story. Now hear Will’s.

Colleen Hoover’s New York Times bestselling Slammed series has brought countless readers to their knees with a whirlwind of love, passion, and heartache. Layken and Will’s love has managed to withstand the toughest of circumstances and the young lovers, now married, are beginning to feel safe and secure in their union. As much as Layken relishes their new life together, she finds herself wanting to know everything there is to know about her husband, even though Will makes it clear he prefers to keep the painful memories of the past where they belong. Still, he can’t resist his wife’s pleas and so he begins to untangle his side of the story, revealing for the first time his most intimate feelings and thoughts, retelling both the good and bad moments, and sharing a few shocking confessions of his own from the time when they first met.

In This Girl, Will tells the story of their complicated relationship from his point of view. Their future rests on how well they deal with the past in this final installment of the beloved Slammed series.

Sultry Spring Saturdays 4/27: {Andrea & Autumn Review}Touch Me (One Night with Sole Regret 4) by Olivia Cunning


Spring is here, and pollen is in the air.  While you're sneezing your way towards Summer, pop those Claritin and lose yourself in a Sultry Spring Read.


Sultry Spring Saturdays is a weekly post we created to share our love of "Adult" books with our fellow readers. If you don't care for steamy books or you are under 18, you may not want to continue reading the review below.

Participating blogs:
Feel free to join in. (let us know so we can add a link to your post that week)

BLOGGER FUN!!!!!! Featuring MY Erin from The Autumn Review

Over the past two weeks, I've introduced you all to some of my friends and bloggers that I follow. Well, today I have Erin, who reviews for The Autumn Review!!! I met Erin shortly after I started blogging. We were in a few discussion groups on Goodreads together and started chatting one day. Late last year, I asked (begged) Erin to help me on the blog. Her reviews are insightful, thorough, and thoughtful. I'm so so happy that I can call her my friend AND that she helps me on the blog. She has no idea what it means to me. So, Erin...THANK YOU and I simply adore you!

April 26, 2013

Breaking the Wrong (Sloan Brothers 2) by Calia Read Review

Breaking the Wrong (Sloan Brothers 2) by Calia Read-NA Contemporary Romance
Kindle format given by author for review

Emilia Wentworth would do anything for her sister.
For three years, Emilia has lived in the past, feeling her sister's pain and hating those who are to blame, including one of the Sloan brothers.
Finally, she has had enough. The only way to be free is to create a Burn List with all the people who have ever hurt her sister.
As she crosses each name off, she gets closer and closer to her final target. But, things aren't always as they seem.
Loyalties are tested.
Boundaries are crossed.
And the truth is revealed.

FINDING BLISS by Dina Silver Cover Reveal

FINDING BLISS by Dina Silver-Adult Women's Fiction
Scheduled to release on 7/16/13.
Available for pre-order NOW! 


Chloe Carlyle has always longed for the perfect family.

Growing up with an alcoholic single mother, she has seen her share of heartbreak and disappointment, and is striving to build a new legacy for herself. After graduating from college, she takes a job working as a summer girl for the Reeds––a wealthy, accomplished family that personifies her American dream. Her summer takes an unexpected turn when the Reeds’ eldest son Tyler, the star quarterback for Notre Dame, shows up and turns her life upside down.

An ambitious young woman with a wry sense of humor, Chloe never imagined herself as the type to succumb to the looks and charms of the hometown hero, but she falls hard for Tyler, and is devastated when they part ways at the end of the summer. As she heads off to law school, Chloe tries to convince herself this was just a fling, but she can’t quite get over him. It’s not until Tyler contacts her out of the blue late one winter night that everything changes.

After doing everything in her power to build the perfect life, Chloe soon learns that there are things beyond her control. She must draw on inner reserves of strength as her life takes unpredictable—and sometimes heartbreaking—twists and turns, and she finds herself faced with decisions she never thought she’d have to make. Poignant, heartfelt, and emotional, Finding Bliss is a reminder that you don’t have to live a fairytale life in order to have a happy ending.

FLASHBACK FRIDAY 4/26: Simply Irresistible (Chinooks Hockey Team #1) by Rachel Gibson

Flashback Fridays is a weekly meme that was created by The Autumn Review. If you'd like to participate, please see the guidelines below.
  • You have to have read the book at least one year ago. 
  • You can review or re-review your selection. 
  • You can simply do a book spotlight. (Cover, book description, author info, and buy links)
  • If you'd like to participate, please leave your link in comments. 

BLOGGER FUN!!!! Featuring Tabby from Insightful Minds Reviews

Over the next two weeks, I'm going to be working hard to clean up my review pile, so I thought I'd do something FUN for you all while I'm busy reading. I'm going to be featuring Bloggers that I follow and admire. Hope you join in the fun!


Today I have Tabby from Insightful Minds Reviews on the blog! Tabby and I both started blogging around the same time. We also share similar tastes in books, so we became blog pals! Not only does Tabby blog, but she created the designs for The Autumn Review and Autumn After Dark. I'm so glad that I've gotten to know her. Be sure to stop by her blog!

Erin Reviews: Darkness of Light by Stacie Marie Brown

 Darkness of Light by Stacie Marie Brown-Mature YA/New Adult Paranormal Romance 
Kindle format given by author for review


Freak. Witch. Crazy. Schizo.

Ember Brycin has been called them all. She’s always known she’s different. No one has ever called her normal, even under the best circumstances. Bizarre and inexplicable things continually happen to her, and having two different colored eyes, strange hair, and an unusual tattoo only contributes to the gossip about her.

When the latest school explosion lands her in a facility for trouble teens, she meets Eli Dragen, who’s hot as hell and darkly mysterious. Their connection is full of passion, danger, and secrets. Secrets that will not only change her life, but what and who she is—leading her down a path she never imagined possible.

Between Light and Dark, Ember finds a world where truth and knowledge are power and no one can be trusted. But her survival depends on finding out the truth about herself. In her pursuit, she is forced between love and destiny and good and evil, even when the differences between them aren’t always clear. At worst, she will incite a war that could destroy both worlds. At best, she will not only lose her heart but her life and everyone she loves. Once the truth is out, however, there will be no going back. And she’ll definitely wish she could.

April 25, 2013

Why is New Adult So Hot?: Guest Post with Author Laura Howard

Why is New Adult So Hot? 


When I began writing, I didn’t realize there were certain rules authors had to follow in order to sell their books to publishers.Like many writers, I was writing the story in my mind for myself.

As the story progressed, I began researching the publishing world. I was disheartened to learn that protagonists in the age range(21-23) I was writing were viewed as non-sellers by publishers. I was told to lower the ages of my characters, which just didn’t work for the story I wanted to tell.

I had been reading a lot of YA fiction, inspired by the Twilight Saga. At the end of the series, the characters were on the cusp of adulthood. I liked that age.

It seems I wasn’t the only one. Writers started self- publishing novels in this age-range because they couldn’t sell them to the publishing houses.

And it turns out readers were LOVING them. Beautiful Disaster and Easy were killing it on the best-sellers list.

So, why is New Adult so hot?

What an amazing age range 18-23 is! You aren’t a kid anymore, but you aren’t really an adult anymore. You get a taste of independence, but you still have that longing to sneak back into your mother’s arms when the world is unfair.

The biggest draw of New Adult for me is the fiery intensity of emotions -- all emotions. Love, lust, greed, anger. They aren’t as undefined and wild as YA emotions, but they are just as acute.

Contrary to what some critics say, New Adult is not just about sex. That certainly has been a draw, but it goes deeper than that. It’s about the search for the ultimate experiences: sex, love, careers, vacations and everything in between.

Young Adult fiction hasn’t been replaced, but there is a bridge being built for readers who want the freshness of a YA novel with the more mature situations of an adult story.



About The Forgotten Ones

Allison O'Malley just graduated from college. Her life's plan is to get a job and take care of her schizophrenic mother. She doesn't have room for friends or even Ethan, who clearly wants to be more than friends.

When Allison's long-lost father shows up, he claims he can bring her mother back from the dark place her mind has sent her. He reveals legends of a race of people long forgotten, the Tuatha de Danaan, along with the truth about why he abandoned her mother. 




About Laura Howard
Laura lives in New Hampshire with her husband and four children. Her obsession with books began at the age of 6 when she got her first library card. Nancy Drew, Sweet Valley High and other girly novels were routinely devoured in single sittings. Books took a backseat to diapers when she had her first child. It wasn’t until the release of a little novel called Twilight, 8 years later, that she rediscovered her love of fiction. Soon after, her own characters began to make themselves known. The Forgotten Ones is her first published novel.

Blog|Facebook|Twitter


Thanks for stopping by Laura!

SWOON Thursday 4/24: THIS GIRL (Slammed 3) by Colleen Hoover



SWOON Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by YA Bound.

Erin Review's: Off Sides (Off Series 1) by Sawyer Bennett

Off Sides (Off Series 1) by Sawyer Bennett-NA Contemporary Romance
Kindle format given by author for review


Ryan Burnham is the privileged son of a U.S. Congressman and captain of his university’s hockey team. While he is on the verge of fulfilling his dreams to play in the NHL, his parents want him on a different course. One he is expected to accept for the sake of his family’s public image.

Forced her to abandon her music career after the heart breaking death of her parents, Danny Cross exists on the opposite side of the tracks from Ryan. She is struggling to make her own way, working two jobs, attending college part time and volunteering in a homeless shelter. She is on a mission to build her own success.

With a chance meeting, their vastly different worlds collide, causing each to evaluate whether they are truly on the correct path to self-fulfillment and happiness. Can their relationship survive? Particularly when others are against them every step of the way. A lot can happen in just ten short days...

BLOGGER FUN!!!! Featuring Angie from Angie's Dreamy Reads


Over the next two weeks, I'm going to be working hard to clean up my review pile, so I thought I'd do something FUN for you all while I'm busy reading. I'm going to be featuring Bloggers that I follow and admire. Hope you join in the fun!

Today, I have Angie from Angie's Dreamy Reads. I met Angie when we both went to lunch with Authors, K.A. Linde and Katja Millay. Angie and I share similar interests in books and became book buds. Angie is one of the sweetest people I think I have ever met! 


April 24, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday 4/24: Shooting Scars (The Artists Trilogy 2) by Karina Halle + TEASER

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking The Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.

Love at 11 by Mari Mancusi Excerpt & Giveaway

Love at 11 by Mari Mancusi-New Adult Contemporary 
Re-release date: April 24, 2013 



When Maddy graduated from Columbia University, she was ready to change the world. She'd get a job at Newsline, meet a nice guy, and live happily ever after with a real designer handbag on her arm. Five years later, she's stuck producing puff pieces for News 9 San Diego--where "if it bleeds, it leads." She's still single, her family's falling apart, and so is her knock-off Kate Spade.

Then Jamie Hayes walks through her newsroom door. The former filmmaker is everything Maddy has ever dreamed of. Creative, smart, sweet—and with eyes that could make a girl melt. The perfect guy…but perfectly unavailable. And the more Maddy tries to stay away—the further she starts to fall.

Now a secret scoop from her favorite knock-off purse guy has Maddy chasing a lead that could make her career. Or destroy it forever. How far is she willing to go to broadcast the truth? And will this breaking news lead to a happily ever after…or a broken heart?

Stay tuned...it's the story of a lifetime.

BLOGGER FUN!!!!! Featuring Angel from Reading Angels

Over the next two weeks, I'm going to be working hard to clean up my review pile, so I thought I'd do something FUN for you all while I'm busy reading. I'm going to be featuring Bloggers that I follow and admire. Hope you join in the fun!

Today, I have Angel from Reading Angels. I met Angel on Twitter. Angel's blog features a lot of YA, but I think Andrea and I talked her into trying out Olivia Cunning's books and the rest is history! We bonded through smut. Angel and I do like similar books, so I do check her blog daily to see what she has going on there. Definitely check her out!

April 23, 2013

Boston Charity Book Giveaway


We are helping to spread the word about this amazing book giveaway that was created to aid the victims and families of the 2013 Boston Marathon Attack. Many best-selling authors have donated books in response to this cause. The books are grouped into bundle packs and a winner will be selected randomly through Rafflecopter for each bundle. Visit the book giveaway site for more details and how to enter.

If you do not want to enter to win a bundle, please feel free to make a donation using this link. It will take you directly to the organization donation site.

The auction will run from April 21-April 30th.

Book Bundle #1

In the Name of Love 

SIGNED copies of: 
Hopeless by Colleen Hoover 
Easy by Tammara Webber 
Fallen Too Far & Never Too Far by Abbi Glines 
FATE by Elizabeth Reyes 
CRUSH by Nicole Williams 
Disastrous by EL Montes 



Everybody Needs Somebody to Love 

SIGNED copies of: 
Slammed & Point of Retreat by Colleen Hoover 
What a Boy Wants, What a Boy Needs and Measuring Up by Nyrae Dawn 
Sleep My Child by Eyvonna Rains
Going Under & Shallow by Georgia Cates
ebooks: Shark Bait & The Other Fish in the Sea by Jenn Cooksey 


Just the Way You Are 

SIGNED copies of: 
Suddenly Royal by Nichole Chase 
Inhale Exhale by Sarah Ross 
Destined to Change by Lisa Harley 
Music of the Heart by Katie Ashley 
Wide Awake by Shelly Crane 



I Walk the Line 

SIGNED copies of: 
The Thoughtless Series by SC Stephens 
Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire
Collide by Gail McHugh 


Stand By Me 

SIGNED copies of: 
Love Unscripted & Love Unrehearsed by Tina Reber 
Collide by Gail McHugh 
Love Em’ or Leave Em’ by Angie Stanton 
On The Island byTracey Garvis-Graves 


I Wanna Hold Your Hand 

SIGNED Copies of: 
Poughkeepsie by Debra Anastasia 
Naked & All In by Raine Miller 
Collide by Gail McHugh 
Signed Wreck Me, ebook Restore Me by JL Mac 


Superstition 

SIGNED copies of: 
Awaken and Avenged by Sarah Ross 
Darkride and Crossfire by Laura Bradley Rede


Whole Lotta Love 

SIGNED copies of: 
Fall Guy & Perfectly Unmatched by Liz Reinhardt 
Lengths & Depths by Steph Campbell 
Charade & Freeing Carter by Nyrae Dawn 
Destined to Change by Lisa Harley 
A Prior Engagement by SL Scott 


Maybe I'm Amazed 

SIGNED copies of: 
A Hidden Fire by Elizabeth Hunter 
Inescapable, Intuition, Indebted and Incendiary by Amy Bartol
Blood of Anteros & Blood Jewel by Georgia Cates  


Ain't Too Proud to Beg 

SIGNED copies of: 
The Proposition and The Proposal by Katie Ashley 
Chocolate Lovers Series by Tara Sivec 
His Perfect Passion and The Undoing of a Libertine by Raine Miller 


Sponsors 


AND

All the amazing authors who donated their books