February 28, 2013

Margaret from Maine by Joseph Monninger Review & Giveaway

Click on banner to follow the tour. 
Margaret from Maine by Joseph Monninger-Adult Contemporary Romance
Paperback provided by Plume (Penguin) for review/blog tour

The Year I Almost Drowned by Shannon McCrimmon Review & Giveaway

The Year I Almost Drowned by Shannon McCrimmon-Mature YA Contemporary Romance
Kindle format given by author for review
In this continuation of The Summer I Learned to Dive, nineteen-year old Finley “Finn” Hemmings is living in Graceville, South Carolina with her grandparents. She's getting to know the family that she was separated from for the last sixteen years. Finn and Jesse's relationship seems to be going strong until they're forced to deal with obstacles that throw them off-track. As Finn prepares to leave for college, she has to say goodbye to the town, her friends and family, and the way of life that she has grown to love. At college, Finn tries to acclimate to a new setting, but quickly falls into an old pattern. Just as things start to become normal and Finn begins to fit in, something unexpected happens that takes her back to Graceville where she is forced to deal with one challenge after another. Her world nearly collapses, and she finds herself struggling to keep from drowning. Through it all, Finn discovers the power of love and friendship. She learns what it means to follow her heart and to stay true to what she wants, even if what she wants isn't what she originally planned.

SWOON Thursday 2/28: Trust In Me (Friends & Lovers 3) by Bethany Lopez



SWOON Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by YA Bound.

SMALL TOWN GIRL by Linda Cunningham has a new cover!


Small Town Girl (Small Town #1) by Linda Cunningham-Adult Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Omnific Publishing
Release: November 11, 2011

When Lauren Smith begrudgingly returns to the small Vermont town where she grew up to arrange for the sale of her late grandmother’s old farmhouse, she has everything she’s always worked for. Lauren drives a Mercedes. She’s engaged to one of the most powerful businessmen in the country and wears a three-carat diamond ring to prove it. She lives in a penthouse on Central Park West. 

Yes, Lauren has everything she considers important. She is smugly prepared for any eventuality in dealing with these country people so Lauren isn’t surprised when the hot water isn’t working at the old house. No problem. She simply looks in the phone book and calls the local plumber. 

The moment Caleb Cochran steps through the old screen door to fix the hot water, the glittery facade that masquerades as Lauren’s life begins to crumble around her. Though she tries hard to deny their mutual, magnetic attraction, Lauren is finally forced to reevaluate her focus and come face-to-face with her true self. Small Town Girl is a story of discovering the true meaning of life and love. 

This novel is the first book in the Small Town series, however, each book can be read as a stand-alone.


 About the Author












Linda has written steadily throughout the years, but usually other people’s papers, speeches, or articles for agricultural trade magazines. Her only published work of fiction was a children’s book, “The Copper Angel of Piper’s Mill”, written in 1988 when her children were still small. Now that the kids are out of the house, Linda is writing fiction again, and this time it’s personal! She writes full time and it’s Romance! Her first romance novel, “Small Town Girl” is being published by Omnific Publishing and should be available late summer/early fall of this year.
Linda lives in a romantic stone house in the green mountains of Vermont surrounded by her gardens and her animals who include horses, sheep, cats, dogs, chickens, a parakeet and various wildlife visitors who wander in and out at will. When time permits, she also enjoys sketching and painting.


 

February 27, 2013

Connected (Second Chances 1) by Kim Karr Cover Reveal & Excerpt

Connected (Second Chances 1) by Kim Karr-Adult Contemporary Romance
Cover design by: okay creations
Scheduled to release: March 22, 2013


What if a ‘Once in a Lifetime’ could happen twice?

Suffering from a past full of tragedy, Dahlia London's soul has been left completely shattered. Happily ever after is a far cry from reality in her world. But, when she is reconnected with her past, the bonds that form are irrefutable.

When River Wilde, lead singer of The Wilde Ones, comes back into Dahlia’s life, the intensity that fires their relationship combined with underlying feelings that have never died lead her to believe she has met her soulmate.

Struggling with confusion as old connections fade and new ones begin, Dahlia's grief begins to lift -- but guilt remains. River wants to be the one to mend all that is torn within her.

But with a past that is never really gone, can their future survive?

Ruining Me (Ruining 1) & Ruining You (Ruining 2) by Nicole Reed Reviews & Giveaway


Ruining Me (Ruining 1) by Nicole Reed-NA Contemporary Romance
Kindle format given by author for review/blog tour


Eighteen year old Jay Stevenson is living a horrible nightmare.

Two years ago, she had the world in the palm of her hand, but in one moment, it was ruined. Secrets, lies, and the worst imaginable betrayal haunt her new reality. Burying her problems under a cold façade seems to be the only way to cope until it all catches up with her. Soon, she loses control of the lonely world she built around her, and the past, present, and future collide.

Three guys are there when it all comes crashing down: JT, the perfect boyfriend she never wanted to give up; Rhye, the local bad boy “rock star” who made her forget the past; and Kane, the funny and sweet tattooed bartender who wants her future.

Secrets must be kept. Choices must be made. Is it possible to move forward while still chained to the wicked vices of the past?

Avoiding Intimacy (Avoiding 2.5) by KA Linde Review

Avoiding Intimacy (Avoiding 2.5) by K.A. Linde-Adult Contemporary Romance
Kindle format given by author for review/ARC/beta



Growing up, Chyna was handed everything on a silver platter. She never wanted for anything, except love—unconditional love from her parents. Love was a foreign emotion, and watching her parents love/hate relationship was never easy.

So when it came to her personal life, she made sure she never had to relive that. With looks that could kill, it was simple for Chyna to be the love 'em and leave 'em kind of girl. And she had always been okay with it. She would rather be single the rest of her life then end up as miserable as her parents. So when a man rescued her after she was drugged in a night club, she never expected to start a relationship with him.

But one chance meeting changes it all. Chyna is offered a once in a lifetime opportunity that could sky rocket her career, and she is forced to make a decision that could ruin everything.

Waiting on Wednesday 2/27: Crush (Crash 3) by Nicole Williams + A SPECIAL TEASER

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking The Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.

February 26, 2013

Jordyn (A Daemon Hunter Novel 1) by Tiffany King Excerpt & Giveaway

Click on banner to see full tour schedule


Hand to hand combat training: CheckCardio and strength training: CheckDaemon hunting: CheckAnomaly: CheckCheck, check, check, check...That's all my life is. There's nothing ordinary about me. I'm "special." I know this because I'm reminded of it every stinking day. I can kick a Daemon's ass with both hands tied behind my back. I can run up a mountain without breaking a sweat. Know what I can't do? Get guys to notice me, or hang out with friends like normal people do. I can't just be ordinary because I have an Arch Angel for a mentor who is always breathing down my neck, and a family of angelic Guides and Protectors who scrutinize every little thing I do. Just for a day I want a life where I'm no longer some anomaly, where I don't have to feel like a lab rat.

And then I met Emrys. Okay, so my mentor and family hate him, but probably for good reason. After-all, he is a Soul Trader, and they aren't the most trust worthy beings. But, he is sooo hot with his green eyes, leather jacket and the sexiest tattoo you've ever seen running down his back. And-he doesn't treat me like a project.I've got myself in quite a little quandary here. Choosing between my responsibilities and the Trader that holds my heart is something I didn't sign up for. Torn between two different worlds, I must now decide who to trust and who to walk away from. What's a girl to do? See what I mean? I am an anomaly. I am Jordyn.

Emancipating Andie by Priscilla Glenn Cover Reveal

Emancipating Andie by Priscilla Glenn-Adult Contemporary Romance
Cover Designer: Okay Creations;  http://okaycreations.net/site/
Expected release: March 2013

Ever since the one time Andie Weber threw caution to the wind - and paid the price for it - she’s learned that it’s safer and smarter to live life playing by the rules. Now she’s got a great apartment, a steady job, and a wonderful boyfriend in Colin; he’s sweet, stable, and essentially perfect – except maybe for the fact that his best friend is Chase.

Chase McGuire lives his carefree, unstructured life strictly for himself. Dripping sarcasm and oozing wit, he refuses to censor his feelings or opinions for anyone, making no apologies for either and wearing his abrasiveness like a badge of honor. No one has ever gotten under Andie’s skin the way Chase does – and vice versa.

So when Andie and Chase find themselves forced to take a two-day road trip together, they are already dreading an inevitable all-out war. But as the trip progresses, and the undeniable friction that has always defined their relationship slowly begins to wear away their preconceived notions of each other, Andie and Chase discover they both have a lot to learn about life, courage, happiness, and the age-old battle between logic and love.


Links to find the book:


About the Author

Priscilla Glenn lives in New York with her husband and three children. She has been teaching English Language Arts at the middle and high school levels for the past eleven years while moonlighting as a writer, mommy, coach, student, and professional laundry-doer.

If you catch her when she's feeling sophisticated, she'll tell you her favorite things are great books and good wine. In the moments in between, she'll admit her love for anything Ben and Jerry's, UFC fights, and Robert Pattinson.

Glenn is also the author of the contemporary romance/YA crossover BACK TO YOU.





Teaser Tuesday 2/26: The Cirque by Ryann Kerekes

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.

February 25, 2013

Rocked Under (Rocked 1) by Cora Hawkes Review & Giveaway

Click on banner to see full tour schedule

Rocked Under (Rocked 1) by Cora Hawkes-NA Contemporary Romance
Kindle format given by author for review/blog tour

Star Crossed (Stargazer 1) by Jennifer Echols Review

Star Crossed (Stargazer 1) by Jennifer Echols-Adult Contemporary Romance
Paperback given by Pocket Books for review

Wendy Mann loves her job rescuing celebrities from public relations scrapes. She grew up with nothing, and now she’s drawn to glitz, glamour, and a lighthearted lifestyle. She speaks her mind, so she’s just the tough cookie to tell stars the truth about how other people see them, even when they don’t want to hear it. But after six years at the top of her game, Wendy crosses the line. A star she was sent to save rebels against her and nearly gets her fired. To salvage her job, she must rehabilitate the career of a singing starlet with a penchant for posting inappropriate photos of herself and arguing online with her famous ex. Problem is, the ex is represented by Wendy’s arch nemesis from college, the hot and haughty Daniel Blackstone. And both stars are scheduled for a collision course on national television, broadcast live from Las Vegas.Daniel’s uneasy when he hears Wendy Mann from his firm’s most hated competitor has been brought in to revive the career of his client’s ex-girlfriend. Daniel must win at any cost. And if he has to seduce Wendy to smooth the way to their partnership, he’s willing to sacrifice himself for the cause. But Daniel doesn’t count on the scorching heat between them—and when they get to Vegas, all bets are off.

February 24, 2013

True Love Story by Willow Aster Review & Giveaway


True Love Story by Willow Aster-Adult Contemporary Romance
Kindle format given by author for review/blog tour

Erin Reviews: The Boy Next Door by Annabelle Costa

The Boy Next Door by Annabelle Costa-Chick Lit
Kindle format given by author for review

Sometimes, love is closer than you think.
Through middle school, high school, bad dates, and an ill-advised punk phase, Tasha has always been able to count on Jason. Since the day he moved in next door, he’s gone from the weird kid in a wheelchair to Tasha’s most trusted friend. But lives change and the friends are going in different directions. When Jason and Tasha rekindle their friendship, sparks fly. After years of being a wild soul, now the ex-lead of a band turned music teacher is just looking for a relationship to last.When none other than Jason introduces her to a man who can give her what she wants, Tasha is on the verge of throwing passion and love away just so she can forget her troubled past and settle down. But Jason isn’t ready to give her up just yet.

A Week with Autumn 2/24

These are the books and goodies I received in the mail this past week. I may not get to post reviews on the blog for all the books, but this is a great way of getting Authors/books names out there. I've decided to join in on Tynga's Reviews weekly meme called Stacking the Shelves. Make sure to stop by her blog to see the other participants!

February 23, 2013

And With Madness Comes the Light (Experiment in Terror 6.5) by Karina Halle Interview, Quotes & Giveaway


And With Madness Comes the Light (Experiment in Terror 6.5) by Karina Halle-Adult Horror/Suspense/Romance
Kindle format given by author for review/blog tour

The Boys of Summer by C.J. Duggan Excerpt & Giveaway

The Boys of Summer (Summer 1) by C. J. Duggan-NA Contemporary Romance

It seemed only natural to nickname them the ‘Onslow Boys’. Every time they swaggered in the front door of the Onslow Hotel after a hard week’s work, their laughter was loud and genuine as they settled onto their bar stools. I peeked through the restaurant partition, a flimsy divider between my world and theirs. I couldn’t help but smile whenever I saw them, saw him ... Toby Morrison.

Quiet seventeen-year-old Tess doesn’t relish the thought of a summertime job. She wants nothing more than to forget the past haunts of high school and have fun with her best friends before the dreaded Year Twelve begins.

To Tess, summer is when everything happens: riding bikes down to the lake, watching the fireworks at the Onslow Show and water bomb fights at the sweltering Sunday markets.

How did she let her friends talk her into working?

After first-shift disasters, rude, wealthy tourists and a taunting ex-boyfriend, Tess is convinced nothing good can come of working her summer away. However, Tess finds unlikely allies in a group of locals dubbed ‘The Onslow Boys’, who are old enough to drive cars, drink beer and not worry about curfews. Tess’s summer of working expands her world with a series of first times with new friends, forbidden love and heartbreaking chaos.

All with the one boy she has never been able to forget.


It will be a summer she will always remember.


Warning: sexual references and occasional course language.

Wicked Winter Saturdays 2/23: Autumn & Andrea Review The Mighty Storm (The Storm 1) by Samantha Towle

Baby, it's cold outside! Time to snuggle up with a mug of hot chocolate (or a glass of wine!) and fall into a steamy, sexy book.

Wicked Winter Saturdays is a weekly post we created to share our love of "Adult" books with our fellow readers. If you don't care for steamy books or you are under 18, you may not want to continue reading the review below.

Participating blogs:
The Autumn Review
The Bookish Babe
Insightful Minds Reviews
My Secret Romance Book Reviews
Paranormal and Urban Fantasy Reviews
Sim-Sational-Books
Feel free to join in. (let us know so we can add a link to your post that week)

February 22, 2013

Focus (The Crescent Chronicles 2) by Alyssa Rose Ivy Review & Giveaway


Focus (The Crescent Chronicles 2) by Alyssa Rose Ivy-NA Paranormal Romance
Kindle format given by author for review/blog tour

Bent (Back to Brooklyn 1) by HB Heinzer Bookblast & Giveaway


Bent (Back to Brooklyn 1) by HB Heinzer-Adult Contemporary Romance

If there’s one thing Julia Wilson has learned in life, it’s that you can’t push your own dreams to the background for anyone. Newly divorced, Julia returns to the hometown she once swore would never see her again. Her plan is simple; enjoy the cheap rent her friend is offering and stay just long enough to develop a plan to make her own dreams come true.

It doesn’t take long before Julia realizes she’s made a big mistake.

Micah Anderson came closer to breaking Julia than anyone else ever had. After promising her forever, he broke her heart the week before she left for college. Now, Julia’s back in town and he’s going to have to tell her the truth about why he left her. It’s not possible to hide a twelve year old child when you live in a town of 5,000 people.

Is following your dreams worth it if it means giving up on a second chance with her first love? Is trying to make a relationship work worth it if his past becomes a threat to her safety?

Erin Reviews: Wintertide by Debra Doxer

Wintertide by Debra Doxer-NA Suspense
Kindle format given by author for review

When college sophomore, Daniel Hiller, reluctantly returned home to Cape Cod for the holidays, he never planned on rekindling old friendships. He had easily left his life behind, and he never looked back. But back at home, after a year and a half away, unexpected nostalgia finds him once again in the company of old friends. On a night out together, one of those friends commits a heinous crime. When Daniel witnesses that crime, he is asked to keep a dark secret that could forever tie him to the place he has always despised.


As Daniel tries to get through the rest of his winter break pretending that nothing is wrong, he rekindles a relationship with his high school girlfriend and he referees the all too familiar arguments between his parents. All the while, he is attempting to avoid the constant threats of retribution if he breaks his silence. Soon, avoidance becomes impossible. Not knowing who to trust, but realizing that his former friends are far from trustworthy, Daniel must make a choice. When he does, he discovers that keeping the secret may have been the lesser of the evils.

Daniel wants to believe that he is nothing like his friends. He wants to think that he’s better than that. But when his own future is threatened, he realizes that he is not better. In fact, he may be much, much worse.

February 21, 2013

IF YOU STAY by Courtney Cole: Author Interview, Favorite Quotes, & Giveaway

To see more stops on the tour, click on banner. 

24-year old Pax Tate is an asshole.

Seriously.

He’s a tattooed, rock-hard bad-boy with a bad attitude to match.

But he’s got his reasons.

His mother died when Pax was seven, leaving a hole in his heart filled with guilt although he doesn’t understand why. What he does know is that he and his dad are left alone and with more issues than they can count.

As Pax grew up, he tried to be the kid his father always wanted; the perfect golden boy, but it didn’t work. His dad couldn’t overcome his grief long enough to notice and Pax couldn’t keep up the impossible perfect façade.

So he slipped far, far from it.

Now, he uses drugs and women to cope with the ugliness, the black void that he doesn’t want to deal with. If he pretends that the emptiness isn’t there, then it isn’t, right?

Wrong.

And it’s never more apparent than when he meets Mila.

Sweet, beautiful Mila Hill is the fresh air to his hardened frown, the beauty to his ugly heart. He doesn’t know how to not hurt her, but he quickly realizes that he’s got to figure it out because he needs her to breathe.

When memories of his mother’s death resurface from where he’s repressed them for so long, Mila is there to catch him when the guilt starts making sense. Mila is the one…the one who can save him from his broken troubled heart; from his issues, from the emptiness.

But only if he can stop being an asshole long enough to allow it.

He knows that. And he’s working on it.

But is that enough to make her stay?

**Warning -Contains sex and violence**

What was your favorite scene to write and why? 
My favorite scene was the last one, because I was finally at ease with Pax. I finally wasn't on edge, wondering how his story was going to turn out or nervous about things I had to make him do. It was finally time to give him a happy ending and I loved being able to do that.

My second favorite scene is the paint scene. Because it was hot. :)

Courtney's Top 5 Quotes from IF YOU STAY
It's hard to choose favorite ones and some of my faves are ones that I shouldn't share because they'd give things away. But here are some that I love. Some of these are my favorites just because of where they are in the book or what they represent in the story.

~'She's like a breath of fresh air. I may be the big bad wolf, but even wolves need to breathe.' 

~"Little Red Riding Hood?" Mila cocks an eyebrow at me, a whisper of a smile flitting across her full lips. I nod.
"For some reason, that's how I think of you," I admit to her. "You were strolling out on the beach, all alone, and came along just when I needed you."
"That would make you the Big Bad Wolf," she points out.
I laugh. "Now you're catching on." 


~"You've seen me at my worst. Maybe you should see me at my best."
My words hang between us, heavy and charged and I don't know what the fuck I'm doing.
"When are you at your best?" she asks hesitantly. And I can see from the determined look on her face that she is intimidated. I'm impressed. She's like a kitten standing up to a lion.
"In bed." My answer is simple.

~'The night swallows me and I am propelled into the darkness, far above the clouds and into the night sky, sailing through the stars, past the moon. Reaching out, I touch it with a finger.
I laugh.
Or I think I laugh.
It's hard to say at this point. I don't know what's real or not real. And that's just the way I like it.'

~'It isn't long before the blackness comes back. I welcome it with open arms. I sing to it, I croon to it, I cradle it in my arms. I do whatever the fuck I want to do to it because it's blackness, the darkest of nights, and it doesn't care. If I am alone in the dark, nothing matters. I can't hurt anyone but myself and I fucking deserve it.
I close my eyes and let the darkness cradle me. It can fuck me for all I care.'




a Rafflecopter giveaway


Author Bio:
Courtney Cole is a novelist who would eat mythology for breakfast if she could. She has a degree in Business, but has since discovered that corporate America is not nearly as fun to live in as fictional worlds. She loves chocolate and roller coasters and hates waiting and rude people.

Courtney lives in quiet suburbia, close to Lake Michigan, with her real-life Prince Charming, her ornery kids (there is a small chance that they get their orneriness from their mother) and a small domestic zoo.


Barnes & Noble

The Truth About Letting Go by Leigh Talbert Moore Cover Reveal

A companion to The Truth About Faking (not a sequel; the books can be read out of order), The Truth About Letting Go (link) takes readers back to Shadow Falls, or more specifically Shadow Creek, with Ashley Lockett as she learns about real friendship, love, and letting go.

Get me
The Truth About Letting Go (link) by Leigh Talbert Moore Ashley wants to smash everything in her once-perfect life. Charlotte wants to walk in Ashley's seemingly charmed shoes. Colt wants to turn Smalltown USA on its ear--with Ashley at his side. Jordan wants to follow his heart... but Ashley is the one sacrifice he never expected to make. Up until now, Ashley Lockett has always followed the rules. She's always done the right thing, played it safe, and then her ideal life is shattered when her dad dies suddenly. Fueled by anger and grief, she vows to do everything opposite of how she lived before. She rejects safety, the rules, faith, and then she meets Jordan. Jordan has big dreams, he's had a crush on Ashley for years, he's a great kisser... but he's also safe. Enter Colt. He is not safe, and he's more than willing to help Ashley fulfill her vow.