May 31, 2012

My Favorite Reads Giveaway Hop June 1-6



It was so hard for me to select a grouping for this hop. I have so many books that are favorites. I selected a few by two of my favorite authors. The books available are listed below. Just complete the entry form for your chance to win ALL THREE books! Make sure to check the list below for other stops on the HOP!


Rules:
1. ONE Winner will be chosen.
2. Must be 15 years or older for YA and 18 for Mature YA/Adult selections
3. Submit entry through Rafflecopter form below.
4. Giveaway ends on June 6. Winner will be selected on the 7th.
5. The Winner will get a SIGNED paperback of On The Island, UNSIGNED paperbacks of If I Stay and Where She Went





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Madly & The Jackal (Madly 3) by M. Leighton Excerpt

It is my pleasure to give you an excerpt from one of my favorite series and authors today on the blog! Madly & The Jackal by M. Leighton is the third book in the Madly Series. Check it out!

How deep does love run?  Deeper than the ocean?  Deeper than memory?  Deeper than magic?

Following their plan to save Atlas, Madly and Jackson return the spirit of Wolfhardt to his prison beneath the sea.  But even the best laid plans couldn’t account for the surprises they find.  This time, Lore aren’t their only challenges. 

Madly is special in ways no one could have guessed and dark forces seek to control her.  They want her power, but first they must weaken her.  They need her beaten.  Vulnerable.  Near death.  And alone.  But that task isn’t an easy one with Jackson at her side.  The strongest of their kind, the only way to separate Jackson from Madly is to destroy his love for her, to erase it from his mind.  And his heart. 

Is it possible to steal Jackson’s love from Madly?  Or is their love the only truly unbreakable thing?

EXCERPT
Opening my eyes so I didn’t have to “see” through my mind, I found that I was nearly blind. It was almost completely dark inside the cave.  If it weren’t for the dappled spots of pale light refracting off the waterfall, I wouldn’t have been able to see at all. 
“So, what now?” I asked, feeling pleased with myself over my accomplishment.  However, reality was soon to intrude upon my pleasure.
“Madly,” Jackson began, his tone causing my stomach to fill with dread.  “You know our plan to rescue Truly is out of the question now, right?”
“No, it’s not.  I know we’ve missed our meeting with Aaron, but I could try and contact him.  Or my father.  We could—”
 “It’s over Madly.  We’ll have to try again later.  Not only is Leviathan looking for us, and most likely not for polite conversation, you’re not safe down here.  Not even with your father in your own house.  No one should’ve known we were here.  No one but the four of us.”
“But who… I mean, how… we didn’t…”
“I know, I’m confused, too.  But what we do know is that, right now, the only people who can be trusted are in this room.”
I wanted desperately to argue, to defend my father vehemently, but I couldn’t.  Jackson was right.  Something was wrong.
“You know my father would never—”
“I’m not suggesting that he’d do otherwise, Madly.  I’m just saying there are things going on down here that we didn’t account for.  Now that we have more information, we can try something else when we bring the next Lore back.  But right now, I have to get you out of here.”
“Jackson, I can’t leave my—”
“You have to. You know that.  You don’t have a choice.”
When I started to challenge that point, Jackson quickly continued.  “Not really.  You’re the best chance Atlas has and you know it.”
Feeling the hopelessness of the situation crowding in on me, I fought the tears the prickled against my eyelids.  Although I didn’t say a word, didn’t make a sound, Jackson knew what I wasn’t saying.
“Come here,” he said, opening up arms that I could barely see.
Emotion tightening my chest, I walked into Jackson’s embrace and laid my head over his heart.  Within his strong hold, nothing felt hopeless, everything felt possible, and I needed a big dose of that optimism.
 As he stroked my hair and spoke softly, I felt the world slowly return to rights.
“We’ll stay here for a while tonight in case Leviathan is still looking for us.  Then, in a few hours, we’ll find a distraction we can use to get us past the shield.  Once we’re back in Slumber, we’ll find the next Lore and return them.  By then we’ll have a plan and we’ll save your family and the rest of Atlas.”
It sounded so logical, so simple. So…do-able.  “Promise?” I mumbled quietly, knowing he could make no such promise.
I raised my head to look up at him.  He traced his fingertip from my temple down my cheek to my lips, brushing them lightly.  Bending his head to mine, he whispered across my mouth, “Trust me.”
His kiss was like a warm breeze, barely there, and then he lifted his head to stare down into my eyes.  I couldn’t see him clearly, just the bits and pieces the shimmering light illuminated.  It made the water droplets on his skin and in his hair glisten like diamonds, even the ones that clung to his lashes.
“Don’t do that,” he groaned quietly.
“Do what?” I asked, genuinely confused.
“Look at me like that.”
Desire rippled through me.  “Like what?” 
“Like you want to lick all the water off me.”
“Is that how I’m looking at you?” I knew I was being coy.
“You know it is.”
“So what if I do?  What if I want to touch my tongue to every drop of water on your skin?  Is that such a bad thing?”  As I spoke, I leaned back a bit further and let my eyes rove his face and chest.  A single droplet ran from the hollow of his throat down the center of his chest.  Reaching out, I caught it on the tip of my finger and stuck it in my mouth.  I heard Jackson gasp seconds before he crushed me to him. 
His lips on mine were flames that spread through me like wildfire.  His arms tightened around me.  One big hand splayed between my shoulder blades, the other on my butt.  Both pulled me toward him, pressing me against him in the most intimate way.  I could feel his hardness against the soft part of my belly and lava poured down my legs.
He ground his hips into mine and his moan tickled its way all the way up my tongue, sending a shiver down my back.  Reaching up, I threaded my fingers into his short hair and held him close, wishing he could devour me, and I him.  I ached for Jackson in ways I’d never ached for anyone, ached for him in places I didn’t know could ache in such a way.
I was panting, rubbing my body against Jackson’s when he tore his mouth away from mine and held me at arm’s length.  I could hear his heavy breathing.  I could feel his desire for me like a thickness in the air.  It filled the cave, warmed my skin.

This book is available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.


May 30, 2012

Easy by Tammara Webber Review

Easy by Tammara Webber-Mature YA Contemporary Romance
Kindle format given by author for review

Goodreads Summary:
When Jacqueline follows her longtime boyfriend to the college of his choice, the last thing she expects is a breakup. After two weeks in shock, she wakes up to her new reality: she’s single, attending a state university instead of a music conservatory, ignored by her former circle of friends, stalked by her ex’s frat brother, and failing a class for the first time in her life.
Her econ professor gives her an email address for Landon, the class tutor, who shows her that she’s still the same intelligent girl she’s always been. As Jacqueline becomes interested in more from her tutor than a better grade, his teasing responses make the feeling seem mutual. There’s just one problem—their only interactions are through email.
Meanwhile, a guy in her econ class proves his worth the first night she meets him. Nothing like her popular ex or her brainy tutor, Lucas sits on the back row, sketching in a notebook and staring at her. At a downtown club, he disappears after several dances that leave her on fire. When he asks if he can sketch her, alone in her room, she agrees—hoping for more.
Then Jacqueline discovers a withheld connection between her supportive tutor and her seductive classmate, her ex comes back into the picture, and her stalker escalates his attention by spreading rumors that they’ve hooked up. Suddenly appearances are everything, and knowing who to trust is anything but easy.
Author Recommendation: Mature Young Adults (language, drinking, sexual situations)




My Take:
From the first sentence on the first page, I was hooked. I've been waiting for this book since, I first heard of it. To say I had high expectations would be putting it mildly. Tammara Webber is one of my favorite authors, so I expected this story to be spectacular. It certainly was. I almost feel at a loss for words. This story took me to some dark places and then gave me swoony butterfies. I was drained by the end. In the very best way. 


Jacqueline is the type of character that you want to wrap your arms around. You relate to her heartbreak and her fears. I feel like your late teens and early twenties are some of the most difficult, because you are learning so much about yourself during that time. To make a commitment to someone when you're that young can be a bit frightening. What's my point you ask? I think that Jacqueline is a structured person and had a plan for her life, but was content in following along with her boyfriend's plans instead. Of course I feel like the best thing that happened was their break-up. I felt like she needed that break to really discover who she was. Then, along came Lucas and Landon. 


I can't even tell you how much I loved Lucas. When you first meet him, he's mysterious and definitely hot. Lucas truly melted my heart. The boy has tattoos and piercings for crying out loud! *SWOON* I do tend to fall for the bad boy, but the thing is, Lucas isn't a bad boy. He just looks like one. EVEN BETTER! Now Landon, he's smart, funny, and seems to have similar interests to Jacqueline. I loved reading their emails to each other. 


As for the story, I knew going in that there would be some dark situations. Yes, this is a love story, but bad things do happen. Some very real bad things. Don't get me wrong, I laughed a lot too. The dialogue between Jacqueline, Landon, and Lucas was fantastic. There is so much more I could say, but I don't want to give too much away. There was so much depth to the characters and the story. Not that I'm surprised. Tammara Webber is the real deal in storytelling. 


Who should read this story? Um...everyone! Easy exceeded my expectations. I didn't want their story to end. I fell in love with the characters and the story. If you are looking for a love story that tugs at your heart and stays in your head for days, this is the perfect book for you. 
For more information go to: Tammara Webber.
Easy is available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

Check back June 13-19 for my GIVEAWAY of Easy during the Indie Author Giveaway Hop!


My Book Boyfriend 5/30 Jaden Sinclair



My Book Boyfriend is a weekly meme hosted by Missie at The Unread Reader

This week My Book Boyfriend is Jaden Sinclair from What A Boy Needs by Nyrae Dawn. We first meet Jay in What A Boy Wants. He's the jokester of the group, but he's really a very deep guy. He's tall with dirty blond hair, blue eyes, with lip and eye brow rings. There are so many reasons why I love him. He's a loyal friend, someone you can trust, and seriously SWOON worthy! When I think of Jaden, I imagine he looks exactly like the guy in the cover. The problem is, I can't find the model's name. SO, the closest I came to how I picture Jay is Hunter Parrish. 
All images taken from Google.
~Before he fell for Aspen, Sebastian didn’t believe in love. I always wanted to—I just didn’t know if I was worthy of it. But when she says it? This girl who can do anything? It’s like a law. If she can love me, I must be worth something, right?
It’s probably the wrong thing to do, but I answer her by putting my mouth to hers. I kiss her slowly, trying to show her exactly what I can’t manage to say.
Her mouth opens and I dip my tongue inside. Then she does the same thing. My hand buries in her hair and hers knots in my shirt and she whimpers like she needs more of me.
That one kiss travels the length of my body. My body is on fire in a different way now. A needy way. Priscilla stokes the fire as her mouth moves down my neck, kissing me there. I do the same to her, give and take, her then me. Her then me.
Stepping backward, I stumble into the room. We’re still attached and still kissing. Right now, everything is silent. There’s only her and me.
This is different than any other time I’ve kissed her. Any other time I’ve done anything with any other girl.-pg 124

~“You’re stubborn,” she counters. Her voice is getting a little louder and I can tell she’s getting frustrated.
I want to hold onto this moment because it almost feels like it used to. I don’t want to focus on what happened this morning or last night or last summer. I just want this moment. “And sexy... funny...oh, and let’s not forget I’m a good kisser.”-pg 25

~I don’t know what makes me do it—maybe it’s to change the subject or maybe it’s because it’s something I would have done before, without a thought, or maybe I just want an excuse to touch her, but I something makes me reach out and grab her. My arms slip around her before I push off the concrete and throw us both in the water.-pg 51

~Nothing else matters right now so I shush her and rub her back and let my hands go through her hair. I’d do anything to make her feel better. Cut myself open and let her see all the secrets inside me. Whatever it takes. Whatever she needs.-pg 84

~All I can think is this is kissing. This. Which is stupid because like I said, I’ve kissed girls, lots of girls, but none of them came close to what this feels like.
Instinct takes over and I roll us, Priscilla on her back and I’m on top of her. She flinches a little when I settle in and I’m sure it’s because she realizes what I have going on under the belt.-pg 86

I could go on and on with my favorite moments, but I'd rather you go read it!


My REVIEW of What A Boy Needs. 
My REVIEW of What A Boy Wants. 



What A Boy Needs will be available on June 12, 2012. 

What A Boy Wants is available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.


Waiting on Wednesday 5/30

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking The Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.

This week my pick is Stealing Parker by Miranda Kenneally, which is scheduled to release in October 2012.


Parker Shelton pretty much has the perfect life. She’s on her way to becoming valedictorian at Hundred Oaks High, she’s made the all-star softball team, and she has plenty of friends. Then her mother’s scandal rocks their small town and suddenly no one will talk to her.

Now Parker wants a new life.

So she quits softball. Drops twenty pounds. And she figures why kiss one guy when she can kiss three? Or four. Why limit herself to high school boys when the majorly cute new baseball coach seems especially flirty?

But how far is too far before she loses herself completely?

Companion to CATCHING JORDAN.

Why I can't wait???
I really liked Catching Jordan and this is a companion to that book. I love the synopsis and have read excerpts posted on the author's blog. Looks like it's going to be another great story!
Stealing Parker is available for Pre-Order on Amazon and Barnes and Noble. 

My review for Catching Jordan.




May 29, 2012

Sound Bites:A Rock & Roll Love Story by Rachel K. Burke Review


Sound Bites: A Rock & Roll Love Story by Rachel K. Burke-Adult Contemporary Romance
Kindle format give by author for review/blog tour

My Summary:
Renee is a music journalist living in LA with her childhood best friend. They both moved out there to go to UCLA and decided to stay once they graduated. Then Renee got involved with a co-worker, but she had some doubts about their relationship. One day, after Renee comes home from an out of town trip she finds her best friend and boyfriend in bed together. She flees the scene and moves home to Boston. 

Once in Boston, she finds an apartment and is searching for a job. She meets Dylan, who is her upstairs neighbor. They don't hit it off right away, but Renee is definitely attracted to him. One night she hears music coming from upstairs, so she investigates. Turns out that Dylan is a talented musician, but has never performed live. Renee encourages him to take that step and as their friendship develops, he makes the move to join a band that Renee knows. 

Renee and Dylan grow closer and closer, eventually getting together as a couple. Renee is still hurt by her best friend's betrayal so, she tends to be a bit paranoid about Dylan and other women. After a bad fight, Renee heads home to find her ex waiting on her doorstep. Dylan gets the wrong impression and they break up. During this time, Renee tries to heal from her past, so that she can move forward with Dylan. She just hopes it isn't too late. 

My Take:
Anytime I see that a story involves romance and music, I'm pretty much sold. So when I saw this tour come up, I signed up right away. I loved that is was set in Boston. I lived there at one time and it's my favorite city. Even though the story was somewhat predicatable, I still enjoyed it. 

I really liked Dylan. I mean, I wasn't swoony over him, but I liked him a lot. I liked the relationship that he and Renee develop. I think he was perfect for her and definitely helped her to realize what love was really supposed to feel like. As for Renee, I liked her, but wanted to smack her sometimes. I understand the feeling of wanting to run away from a bad situation, but I really had hoped she would have made a stronger statement with her friend. She was more hurt that her friend betrayed her than she was about her boyfriend cheating. I would be hurt too, but you can bet that I would've been vocal about it. 

As I said before, it was predictable and I would've liked to see more music intergrated into the story, but I would recommend this book. Overall, it was a sweet, easy read. It's a good story to read if you're looking for quick romantic read. 


For more information go to: Rachel K. Burke
This book is available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Teaser Tuesdays 5/29

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.

Here are the rules:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share 2 "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn't give too much away! You don't want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the TITLE and AUTHOR too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser.


~My heart dropped to somewhere in the vicinity of my toes. My first thought wasn't a thought at all. It was devastation.-Kindle location 2677


This book is available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

I can't even tell you how much I love this series!!!! If you haven't read it, please do!


May 28, 2012

The Vincent Brothers by Abbi Glines Review


The Vincent Brothers by Abbi Glines-Mature YA Contemporary Romance
Kindle format given by author for review/eARC

My Summary:
Six months has past since Ashton broke Sawyer Vincent's heart. He's really trying to move past it, but every time he sees them together, he wants to explode. Not only does that situation still have him all stirred up, but then Ashton's cousin Lana comes to town for the summer. Sawyer always got along with Lana, but never really thought of her much. Well, things have certainly changed. Not only has Lana become drop dead gorgeous, but Sawyer can't seem to get his mind or his hands off her. Sawyer seems to think that hooking up with Lana might be the perfect revenge against Ash, but he never expected to have feelings for her. 

Lana McDaniel has always envied her cousin Ashton. Not only does Ash have all the looks, but she's had BOTH Vincent boys wrapped around her finger. Lana didn't approve of how Ash handled her break-up with Sawyer, but she's not exactly sad that it happened either. She's always had a thing for Sawyer. This is the summer she's going to stand up and take a chance. She wants Sawyer bad, but she won't be second best either. 

My Take:
Where to begin??? I suppose I'll start by saying that I had no idea what to expect when it came to Sawyer's story. I'm a true, dedicated, heart-throbbing fan of Beau's, so I wondered how Abbi Glines was going to make me fall in love with Sawyer. I didn't really like him in VB. I didn't even feel bad for him either. Well, I'm pleased to say, that Abbi did it. While I'd still pick Beau, I truly did fall in love with Sawyer Vincent. They are so different and I love them for different reasons, but MAN OH MAN! We certainly get inside his mind and let me just say, there's a lot going on in that head of his. 

I think what bothered me the most about Sawyer in the first book was that he didn't really see Ash. He had such an idealized version of what he wanted her to be, that he ignored who she really was. He wanted her to forget who she was when they were kids and she was close to Beau. He wanted to be her world. I get that to a point, but boy is that a sure fire way to lose a girl. Having said that, in this book, he does see the error of his ways and it really made sense to me why he felt that way about Ash. 

Another reason why I fell for him this time...he is sexy as sin. Seriously. I was shocked. I mean, he's a teenage boy, so naturally he has pervy thoughts, but I seriously considered putting ice down my shirt a few times to cool off. It's not even that the scenes were incredibly graphic, but the way that boy chooses his words could set a house on fire. My friend Andrea from The Bookish Babe and I were reading it together via texts and DM's and I believe there were a few times we BOTH had to step into the freezer. No lie. 

Then there's Miss Lana. We get the impression in the first book that there are some underlying feelings that she may have for Sawyer. She's always been the timid one behind Ash's more confident demeanor. Well, this summer everything has changed and she's going for the gold. I absolutely loved that she stepped out of her shell to go after what she wanted. Not only did she do that, but she also had the confidence not to let Sawyer walk all over her.  She really was perfectly suited to what he needed. 

Truthfully, I could go on and on about this book and how amazing it was, but if you've ever read an Abbi Glines book, you already know that it is. As sad as I am that the Vincent Brother's tales are over, Abbi really tied it up beautifully. I needed to see some issues resolved and I felt that that was accomplished. Not to say that I wouldn't like an update story someday, because let's face it...can you ever really get enough of the Vincent Brothers???

For more information go to: Abbi Glines.
The Vincent Boys is available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

The Vincent Brothers will be available on June 5, 2012! 

GIVEAWAY
I will gift eBooks of The Vincent Boys AND The Vincent Brothers as a set to ONE lucky winner!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

May 26, 2012

Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror 1) by Karina Halle Review



Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror 1) by Karina Halle-Mature YA Mystery/Thriller/Romance
Kindle format purchased on Amazon

Summary:
Enter the world of the highly-acclaimed Experiment in Terror Series by visiting...the Darkhouse:

There’s always been something a bit off about Perry Palomino. Though she’s been dealing with a quarter-life crisis and post-college syndrome like any other twenty-something, she’s still not what you would call “ordinary.” For one thing, there’s her past which she likes to pretend never happened, and then there’s the fact that she sees ghosts. Luckily for her, that all comes in handy when she stumbles across Dex Foray, an eccentric producer for an upcoming webcast on ghost hunters. Even though the show’s budget is non-existent and Dex himself is a maddening enigma, Perry is instantly drawn into a world that both threatens her life and seduces her with a sense of importance. Her uncle’s haunted lighthouse provides the perfect catalyst and backdrop for a mystery that unravels the threads of Perry’s fragile sanity and causes her to fall for a man, who, like the most dangerous of ghosts, may not be all that he seems.-Goodreads

My Take:
Here's the deal, I'm a big baby when it comes to being scared. I don't like that feeling. So, when I originally participated in the tour for this series through AToMR, I decided not to read the book and did an excerpt instead. Then, I started talking to my BFF's and they all LOVED the series. They assured me that, yes, there some scary parts, but it's more mystery/suspense. So, when I got tour information again, I decided to take the plunge. BOY OH BOY am I glad I did! This is the first book in the series and I'm making my way through the rest, but I have to say that I am completely BLOWN away! Even though I have to read the books during the day, I really love these characters and Karina truly is a natural story teller. 

I immediately connected with Perry. She is such a real girl. I mean that in every sense, from her appearance to her thoughts. Perry is someone I could be friends with. As I was reading this book, I kept telling my friend Andrea that I couldn't help but laugh. Perry has the best sense of humor. She says things people think, but won't necessarily say. Even in the most unusual situations, she made me laugh. 

Oh Dex. How do I describe my feelings for Dex? For starters, I think he's weird. Then there is the fact that he drives me absolutely insane. Despite that, I'd pretty much jump his bones if I was in the same room with him. Confused? Me too. Dex and Perry have a natural chemistry together and there is definite interest from both parties, but the only relationship that really develops at this point is somewhat of a friendship. They understand each other in ways that other people don't see. 

So, I'm thrilled with the fact that not only have I fallen in love with this series, but I continue to have a growing fascination with these characters. Am I scared sometimes? Yes, but that's why I read it in the day and the suprising humor in the story helps me move past the scary parts. If you are looking for a fantastic mystery/suspense/thriller/touch of romance, this is a perfect series for you. Honestly, the writing is impeccable and you will fall in love with the writing, the characters, and story. The second book in the series is Red Fox. Look for my review for that one soon!




For more information go to: Experiment in Terror/Karina Halle.
This series is available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.
When I purchased this book it was free on Amazon and qualifies for my Why Buy the Cow? Reading Challenge with The Unread Reader that I'm participating in this year. For more information on the challenge, click on image. 





May 25, 2012

Crushed Seraphim by Debra Anastasia BIRTHDAY BASH!!!!


One Holy Hell


Crushed Seraphim is One Holy hell of a year old! It’s been one year since I stayed up all night to watch my debut novel go live. When it finally popped up on Amazon, I peed my pants a little. I never knew I wanted to be an author, but holding that book was a huge tearjerker for me. I wrote this story as a way to tell the tale of a woman that was a cursing, smart-mouthed nightmare who also happened to have the courage to save the world. It was book one in the Seraphim Series and the conclusion, Bittersweet Seraphim, will be dropping in Fall 2012.

There was definitely a stand out gentleman from this book. His name is Satan Jack and in my head? He looks just like Johnny Depp. Jack even has his own Twitter (@Satan_Jack ) where he flirts with readers! He’s staked a claim in quite a few panties since his unveiling and he’s proud.


Here’s the summary:

How does a foul-mouthed angel end up as the last hope for all of Heaven and Earth?

When Seraph Emma is maimed and tossed from Heaven by a rogue angel who's taken charge, she fears she'll never be allowed to return. Tasked with the impossible job of showing the self-loathing (and not even human!) Jason his worth, Emma is sure she's doomed to fail.

Meanwhile, having wormed his way into Heaven, the corrupt Everett has trapped God in Hell and has designs on unleashing evil everywhere. Fortunately, if there's one thing Emma can't do (in addition to minding her language), it's give up. Determined to save Jason and get back to Heaven-even if it means going to Hell-Emma's plan is simple yet impossible: trick the Devil to save God.

What she doesn't count on is the devotion and, well, humanity she finds in Jason; the spirit, hidden compassion, and raw sex appeal within the Devil; and the vulnerability of her own heart. With the help of two unlikely allies, she'll wage the battle for Heaven. But will Emma be sidetracked by a new sort of heaven along the way?

What's truly more dangerous? Falling from Heaven, or falling in love?

Debra Anastasia has twisted a fast-paced tale of intimate relationships with literally universal impact. Rich with humor and electrified by attraction, this novel offers a playfully off-beat take on the good and evil that make up the world.


Here’s the trailer (featuring music by the insanely talented Ron Pope)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oifs13WO9AY

This One Holy Hell of a birthday party is being held from May 24th-26th and there are many chances to win a prize. 

1. On this blog, leave a comment. One of the commenters will win an eCopy of Crushed Seraphim in the format of their choice.

2. On my blog, http://debraanastasia.blogspot.com/you can enter to win the grand prize and get linked to an excerpt from Bittersweet Seraphim. Looking for a home are two print, signed copies of my books! Poughkeepsie will come with a matching set of temporary tattoos and crystal bracelet. Crushed Seraphim will come with an angel themed crystal bracelet and an exclusive fifteen-minute gChat with Satan Jack! That’s right, you can ask him anything.

So thank you to Autumn, for letting me flash my goods here on this site today. Feel free to check out www.DebraAnastasia.com for more information on Crushed Seraphim.


May 24, 2012

What A Boy Needs by Nyrae Dawn Review


What A Boy Needs by Nyrae Dawn-YA Contemporary Romance
Kindle format given by author for review/ARC

My Summary:
The end of senior year is approaching and Jaden Sinclair feels like he's stuck. All of his friends are getting ready to head off to college in New York and Jaden was originally supposed to go, but his college plans didn't work out and he doesn't have the money to last long in New York. Then to make matters worse, he has to watch Pris with her new boyfriend. 

After an altercation with his dad, he learns some shocking information. He's arrested for assaulting his dad and as a result his mother kicks him out. Jaden goes to live with Bastian for the remaining school year. Because of this latest event, he really feels like he's just not good enough to stick around his friends and decides not to go to New York. 

Bastian, Aspen, and Pris talk him into making the trip East with them for their last big adventure together. Along the way, Pris tries to tear down Jaden's walls. He's always been the jokester, the one to hide his feelings, especially when it comes to Pris. Jaden has wanted Pris for so long, but has never felt good enough for her. As the trip progresses, their feelings for each other surface. He wants to be with her more than anything, but since he plans to leave, holds back. Will Jaden listen to his heart and stay with the girl he loves and the friends he doesn't want to leave behind? Can he finally figure out that he's good enough?

My Take:
I really don't know where to start. When I read What A Boy Wants, I met Jaden. I really liked him in that story, so when I found out he'd have his own story, I was jumping up and down. Literally. I really love these books. I love that they are written in first person from a male perspective. Nyrae captures the male voice perfectly. The tone of this book is completely different than WABW though. Jaden has some serious issues, so even though the humor is still present, it is a heavier story. I laughed, I cried, and I seriously SWOONED. 

Let me begin my gush on Jay. I love all of these characters and I've  placed them into my life in a particular way. I adore Bastian, he's the cute guy that you love to have as your pal. Aspen is a true loyal friend. Pris, accepts you for who you are and stands by no matter what. Jaden.....he's the guy that I would want as my boyfriend. Yes, it's true I have a slight soft spot for the tortured souls. Seriously though, this guy is special. I was deeply touched watching him go on this journey of realizing that he IS special and that his friends love him, that Pris loves him. Jaden needs people to love him. He had me melting in a puddle of goo throughout the whole story. I really could go on and on and on........about how wonderful he is. 

As I said before, even though it is a deeper story, there are so many funny highlights that I feel necessary to point out without giving anything away. As you read this book, keep your eye out for these key moments.
1. Graduation
2. "Do it harder!"
3. Cherry Coke
4. Ice Cream
5. Chicago

Once you read the book, you'll understand why I felt I needed to spotlight those special treats. 

Nyrae Dawn has a true gift of capturing the voice of her characters perfectly. She makes you feel like you're part of the family. It is such a pleasure to read her work. I know I read fast, but I got this book Tuesday afternoon of this week and immediately opened it. I had it completed before midnight that same night. That alone should tell you how fantastic this book is. Please go read these books. You won't regret it!



For more information go to: Nyrae Dawn.
See my review for What A Boy Wants HERE.

What A Boy Needs will be available on June 12, 2012. 

What A Boy Wants is available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.





SWOON Thursday 5/24


SWOON Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by YA Bound.

Here are the rules:
-From the book you’re currently reading, or one you just finished, tell us what made you SWOON. What got your heart pounding, your skin tingling, and your stomach fluttering.
-Try to make the Swoon 140 characters so you can tweet it. Add the #YABOUND Hashtag when you tweet.

This week my SWOON is from What A Boy Needs by Nyrae Dawn. This book is a companion novel to What A Boy Wants. I was fortunate to read this book this week and I have to tell you that I absolutely fell in love with Jaden. I loved him from WABW, but seriously, there are no words for how much I love this guy now! My quote is from a scene between Jaden and Pris. 


Twitter version:
~That one kiss travels the length of my body. My body is on fire in a different way now. A needy way. -pg 124

Bloggy version:
~Her mouth opens and I dip my tongue inside. Then she does the same thing. My hand buries in her hair and hers knots in my shirt and she whimpers like she needs more of me.

That one kiss travels the length of my body. My body is on fire in a different way now. A needy way. Priscilla stokes the fire as her mouth moves down my neck, kissing me there. I do the same to her, give and take, her then me. Her then me.

Stepping backward, I stumble into the room. We’re still attached and still kissing. Right now, everything is silent. There’s only her and me.-pg 124


What A Boy Needs is scheduled to release on June 12, 2012!

What A Boy Wants is available at Amazon and Barnes and Noble.


You can see my review of What A Boy Wants HERE and What A Boy Needs HERE.