April 30, 2012

Taking Shots Dream Cast and Trying to Score (Assassins 2) by Toni Aleo Review & GIVEAWAY

Trying to Score (Assassins 2) by Toni Aleo-Adult Contemporary Romance.
Kindle format given by author for review/blog tour/ARC.

My Summary:

Fallon Parker is finally living her dream of working in the family wine business. She’s had to put her love life on hold to make this dream a reality. Now her past is coming back to haunt her. She’s working with the Nashville Assassins hockey team. She never expected to run into her old flame Lucas Brooks.
Lucas Brooks has had a troubled life. He’s lost a parent, struggled with addiction, and lost the love of his life. However on the ice, he’s deadly. Despite his personal struggles, his reputation on the ice is respectable. Lucas gets traded to Nashville where he runs head first into his true love, Fallon.
Secrets are revealed and old pain resurfaces. Can Fallon and Lucas even be around each other without combusting and will they be able to forgive each other of the past to make a new future together?
My Take:
This book is the second book in the Assassins Series and I couldn’t wait to read it. I loved the first book, Taking Shots, and was anxious to see whose story we would see next. I love hockey and sports romance! Hockey players are just so manly and yummy! 

Lucas and Fallon’s story is very different than Elli and Shea’s. Toni did a great job of making the characters unique. I’ll be honest, it took me a while to warm up to Fallon. I could see why she did what she did, but she was a bit of a brat. Once she realizes her faults, I loved her! I love the name Fallon too. Neat name. I adore Lucas and want one of my own! His struggle with addiction and his determination to stay sober, was inspiring. I felt like he needed to go through the consequences of his addiction, so that he and Fallon could be a couple. Without giving anything away, you see how sensitive Lucas is and the relationship he develops with one of the characters made me melt! I love that he was so close to his mother and father too. The steam level was high and OH SO GOOD! Lucas and Fallon definitely have some serious sexual chemistry! *Fans Self*  Oh and let me just say that when it rains now, I think of Lucas! 


I was thrilled to see Elli and Shea! Love seeing how relationships progress. I am SO excited to read the next story Empty Net, which is Audrey’s story. Audrey is Fallon’s sister and she makes her appearance in this book. She is such a sweetheart! 

One little thing I have to mention is that editing has been an issue and I don't blame the author. When you hire an editor, they should catch errors. Enough said on that. SO, I loved the epilogue and seeing where they were later on. Love the development of the series and can’t wait to read Empty Net! If you like some spice in your Contemporary Romance and sports, check this out! Toni Aleo has become one of my favorite new authors to read! SERIOUSLY! Hope you enjoy the series too! 5 out of 5 leaves


Taking Shots: Toni's Dream Cast

Elli Fisher 
Elli is special in my eyes. She has so many issues, so many inscuries, when she really doesn’t need them. She is beautiful inside and out. When I found this picture on Pinterest, I thought it fit what in my mind was Elli. I love the shape of her face, the set of her eyes, she kinda reminds me of Kirsten Dunst. Either way, this is my Elli Fisher.


Shea Adler
Swoon…

“With his almost black hair that fell in the brightest blue eyes she had ever seen, and a crooked nose that had been broken two years ago during a game with the Red Wings, she had to admit that she had a little bit of a crush on him. When he smiled, her heart melted.”

This is my Shea Adler. Perfect jaw line, fantastic eyes, crooked nose. He has the kind of eyes that could make panties drop, honestly. He’s perfect! I found him before I found Elli, and he fits the bill to a tee when it comes to Shea Adler!



Harper Allen
Harper is a nut, through and through, but she is also very beautiful. In the beginning of the book, she has spiky purple hair, but by the end she has her normal brown and it is a little shorter than the way this model has it. I just loved this model’s face. Its so Harper. With the cute little nose, and thin mouth, she’s perfect!



Jakob Titov
Jakob is a Russian Stud with deep set green eyes and brown hair. He is devilishly sexy with his chiseled jaw and scruffy chin. Totally hot, and totally not your normal guy. He is sweet, and caring, and like Shea always says, “He could fall in love with a rock.” With those bedroom eyes, who wouldn’t fall in love him?


For more information and to check out the amazing GRAND PRIZE for the tour go to: Toni Aleo
Taking Shots and Trying to Score are available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.


  

April 29, 2012

What A Boy Wants by Nyrae Dawn Review

What A Boy Wants  by Nyrae Dawn-YA Contemporary Romance
Kindle format loaned by friend through Amazon.

Summary:
Courtesy of watching his mom’s relationships, Sebastian Hawkins knows what girls need to do to get a guy. He has what he considers a PHD in hooking up. When he needs extra cash for a car, Sebastian starts up an online venture as The Hook-up Doctor, to anonymously help girls land the guy of their dreams. Of course, his services don’t offer a happily-ever-after guarantee. He’s seen firsthand getting together never means staying together.

And then he falls in love…

With the last girl he would expect…

Totally not in his game plan.

Suddenly, Sebastian finds himself muddled in the game he’s always prided himself on. He can’t even pick up girls at parties anymore! Why would anyone want to be in love when it turns you into a stuttering, screwed-up, mess with really lame stalker tendencies? Stalking? Totally not his gig.

But the Hook-up Doctor won’t let himself go down easily. He’s always known how to give a girl what she wants and now it’s time to figure out what a boy wants… and he definitely plans on getting it.-Goodreads
My Take:
If you follow my blog you know I usually do my own summary of the book for my reviews, but I couldn't quite capture Bastian's personality, so I left it as the expert wrote it. This book is an amazing little read that I was TOLD to read immediately. *snickers* (Heather Self) I'm so glad I did. This book totally exceeding my expectations. 

On the first page of this book, I was cracking up! The book is told from Bastian's perspective and I love reading books from a male POV (point of view). Sebastian is simply adorable! The reasons I love him: he's loyal to his friends, adores his mom and isn't afraid to show it (I hope my boys feel that way about me someday), funny, witty, and is willing to admit when he's wrong. I mean seriously, do you even need to hear more? 

Not only did I fall HARD CORE for Bastian, but I loved his friends. Aspen is the girl next door, who he's grown up with and considers to be his best friend. BTW, Aspen is a girl. :) Then there are Jaden and Pris (Priscilla). I loved them all! They are a tight knit group that stick together. It was so sweet to see how they cared for each other. 

Sometimes you just need a happy, sweet, love story. I got exactly that with What A Boy Wants. It is now my go to read when I need a laugh and a reminder of why I love to read. If you need a fast, happy read, whether you are an Adult or a YA, you'll love this book. I'm SO looking forward to reading What A Boy Needs, which will be Jaden's story. I've gotten a few teasers and they made me want the book YESTERDAY! 


For more information go to:Nyrae Dawn
This book is available for $.99 on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

Because I loved this book so much, I'm going to do a GIVEAWAY of this book! Two, yes 2, lucky winners will receive and eBook of What A Boy Wants! 

April 28, 2012

A Week with Autumn 4/29


These are the books and goodies I received in the mail this past week. I may not get to post reviews on the blog for all the books, but this is a great way of getting Authors/books names out there. 


Review

Bought

Mentions


The Genius and The Muse by Elizabeth Hunter Review

The Genius and The Muse by Elizabeth Hunter-Adult Contemporary
Kindle format given by author for review/ARC

Summary:
Kate Mitchell is getting ready to graduate from Foothill Art Institute. Her final project is her thesis on well known photographer and alumni, Reed O'Connor. Reed is known as a genius in his field, but is somewhat of a recluse. She learns there is a link between O'Connor and her mentor on the project. Kate has been fascinated by one particular photograph that she is convinced is Reed and a woman. Her mentor tells her that she needs to understand the relationship Reed had with another artist, Samantha Rhodes, so that she can understand Reed better. As Kate begins to unravel the mysteries of Reed, she is surprised with a love of her own. 

My Take:
When I was asked to read this book, there was absolutely no hesitation. I love EH's writing style and knew that this story would be nothing less than exceptional. Once again, I was right! 

I often feel like book synopsis' short change the story. Now, I know that the author doesn't want to reveal too much of the story, because then what's the point in reading the book. MY point is, I read the synopsis and was intrigued, but this story takes you on such a wonderful journey. That is not to say this is a hearts and butterflies type of book. It's a story of love, self discovery, loss, and trying to heal.

I liked getting the history of the relationship between Reed and Sam, but the book for me was really about Kate. Or I guess I should say that I had a deeper connection to Kate. She is on the brink of starting her career after graduation, is stuck in a dead end relationship with a loser of a guy, and ends up becoming so emotionally involved in her project, which ultimately I think became her muse. 

Then we meet Javi. Javi is a friend of Reed's and is also a famous sculptor. He's rough, not overly friendly, not particularly handsome in the traditional sense, covered in tattoos, but he is oh so lovely. I want a Javi of my own. (Do you think my husband would mind?) When we're first introduced to Javi, I wasn't really sure what his role was going to be in the story. Kate sees Javi in a different light and is intrigued by him immediately. No doubt that they have a connection, but Javi is reluctant to pursue anything with Kate for many reasons. She's younger, pretty, and about to start her own career in the art world. Needless to say, neither of them can fight their attraction and that's all I will say on that. ;) I could have read about Javi and Kate the whole time. 

This book is Elizabeth Hunter's first Contemporary and I must say that the transition was effortless. I've read EH's paranormal series and am a huge fan of that as well. The Genius and The Muse is such a lovely story. It's the type of book where you want to re-read it, because you may find more little delights you missed the first time. 
For more information go to: Elizabeth Hunter
This book is scheduled to release on May 2, 2012. 



April 27, 2012

Going Under by Georgia Cates-Review


Going Under by Georgia Cates-YA Contemporary Romance
Kindle format given by author for review/blog tour

Summary:
Jessie Boone is a bad boy. He's from the wrong side of town, covered in tattoos, is poor, and has a bad home life. The one thing he is good at is football. He needs a scholarship to get out of the mess of a life he's been living. Jessie has transferred to another school on the good side of town, where he is challenging the current quarterback for the starting position. Forbes Henderson isn't going to back down. He tries taking Jessie out of the running, but Jessie won't back down. He retaliates by planning to steal Forbes' girlfriend Claire. 

Claire Deveraux is the perfect daughter, student, cheerleader, friend, and girlfriend. When Jessie starts pursuing Claire, she decides to turn the tables. What Claire doesn't expect is to actually fall for the guy. He's crude and totally inappropriate, but when Claire gets paired up with him in class, she begins to see the real Jessie. Jessie starts to abandon his plan for revenge against Forbes when he really does fall for Claire. 

Once Jessie and Claire make the decision to pursue the relationship, Jessie's past comes back to haunt him. He has to make the decision to let Claire go and put her in harm's way or follow his heart.

My Take:
OH MY GOSH! I just don't even know where to start with this book. It's SOOOOO much more than I expected. I don't mean to be all fangirl about it, but seriously...this is the best book I've read in a while (and I've been lucky to read some really good books lately)! When I first read the synopsis of the book for the blog tour, I thought it was definitely up my alley. I never expected it to have so much depth to the story. This is not just some opposites attract kind of story. 

We meet Jessie first and right away I knew I would fall in love with him. I have somewhat of a weak spot for the bad boy I suppose.  The thing is though that Jessie is smart, has tremendous athletic ability, responsible, wants to be better, and has faith for a better future. Despite the negative and violent life he's been exposed to, Jessie is able to overcome the adversity. 

Then we meet Claire. I'll admit that in the beginning of the story, I was somewhat indifferent to her. Yes, she's cute, smart, perfect in every way, but as the story develops you see that she's much more sincere. Claire's rich and has parents that fully support her, but she has a background story that surprised me a bit. I love that she was able to see the real Jessie and that she decides to follow her heart regardless of what her friends and family may think. So, ultimately, I ended up LOVING Claire. 

I have to mention Payton, who is Claire's best friend. She nearly stole the show for me. Payton is an absolute RIOT! Her personality reminds me so much of myself. She values her friendship with Claire and I love that she supported Claire even when she had her doubts about Jessie. She trusted that Claire would make the right decision. 

As I said before, I just can't say enough good things about the story. There were so many surprises as the story developed, I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. It was much more complex than what I originally expected. I laughed and cried on the same page! As summer approaches, this book would be a perfect beach/poolside read. I couldn't put the book down. I HAD to finish it in one sitting. Adults and YA will connect with this story. Beautifully done! This book is going in my re-reads and favorites for sure! For more information go to: Georgia Cates

This book is available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.










April 26, 2012

Perfect Chemistry (Perfect Chemistry 1) by Simone Elkeles Review


Perfect Chemistry (Perfect Chemistry 1) by Simone Elkeles-YA Contemporary Romance
Kindle format purchased on Amazon. 




For more information go to: Simone Elkeles (be sure to check out the book trailers!)

This book is available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.






SWOON Thursday


Swoon Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by YA Bound.

Here are the rules:
-From the book you’re currently reading, or one you just finished, tell us what made you SWOON. What got your heart pounding, your skin tingling, and your stomach fluttering.
-Try to make the Swoon 140 characters so you can tweet it. Add the #YABOUND Hashtag when you tweet.


This week my Swoon is from Going Under by Georgia Cates.

Twitter version:
His mouth abandoned my lips and trailed kisses down my neck, onto my chest and I felt him trembling beneath me.-Kindle location 1824.

Bloggy Swoon:
I climbed on top of him with my knees on each side of his hips because I was desperate to feel his body pressed against mine. He put his hands on my hips under my dress and pulled me hard against him while I reached behind his neck and tightened our embrace. His mouth abandoned my lips and trailed kisses down my neck, onto my chest and I felt him trembling beneath me.

Seriously....I can't even tell you how much I loved this book! Jessie Boone is one HOT guy! Please please go get it!

You can see my review for Going Under on April 27th!

April 25, 2012

Redheads Are Soulless by Heather M. White Cover Reveal

It's my pleasure to show you the cover for Redheads Are Soulless by Heather M. White. The cover was designed by SupaGurl Books Blog. This book is a YA Paranormal and is scheduled to release on May 25, 2012!


High School senior, Sofia Black, has had a very hard life. Since her father's death 7 years ago, she has had to look after her drug addicted, alcoholic mother. School isn't any better for her either. The other kids constantly tease, and ridicule her. All she wants is to get out of her small hometown in Alabama.

When new student, Jason, shows up, Sofia's world is turned upside down. She doesn't understand why he wants to befriend her so badly... And, just when she thinks she can trust him, trouble appears.

Jason's twin brother, Robbie, moves into town, and things go haywire. Sofia is now running for her life - and Jason is forced to share hidden secrets with her. She learns the truth about her father's death, and finds out that she may not be as "human" as she once thought. She struggles to accept her fate, while fighting for her life.
Redheads are Soulless

Waiting on Wednesday 4/25



Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking The Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.

This week my pick is The Golden Lily (Bloodlines 2) by Richelle Mead.


The second thrilling installment in Richelle Mead's Vampire Academy spinoff series.

Tough, brainy alchemist Sydney Sage and doe-eyed Moroi princess Jill Dragomir are in hiding at a human boarding school in the sunny, glamorous world of Palm Springs, California. The students--children of the wealthy and powerful--carry on with their lives in blissful ignorance, while Sydney, Jill, Eddie, and Adrian must do everything in their power to keep their secret safe. But with forbidden romances, unexpected spirit bonds, and the threat of Strigoi moving ever closer, hiding the truth is harder than anyone thought.

Populated with new faces as well as familiar ones, Richelle Mead's breathtaking Bloodlines series explores all the friendship, romance, battles, and betrayals that made the #1 New York Times bestselling Vampire Academy series so addictive. In this second book, the drama is hotter, the romances are steamier, and the stakes are even higher.-Goodreads

Why I can't wait???
Well, I mean really, need I say more than the synopsis? But really, I can't wait because I love Richelle Mead and Vampire Academy is my favorite Paranormal Series. So, naturally I loved Bloodlines and can't wait to see what kind of adventures the group is in for next!



April 24, 2012

The Light Tamer by Devyn Dawson Review & Giveaway

The Light Tamer by Devyn Dawson-YA Paranormal Romance
Kindle format given by author for review/blog tour

Summary:
Jessie Lucent's alcoholic father has left for an art career in Greece. Now, Jessie and her mother are forced to leave New York and move to North Carolina to live with her grandmother, Ms. Gayle. Needless to say, Jessie isn't happy about the move. That is until she's reunited with her childhood friend Caleb Baldwin. 

Caleb isn't the awkward kid she once knew who had saved her from drowning. Now, Caleb is tall and very good looking. Jessie and Caleb have chemistry and she soon finds out that Caleb is a Light Tamer. Jessie is also a Light Tamer and she and Caleb are bonded mates. They need the light in order to survive and avoid the Dark Ones, who want to steal their light. 

As Jessie is introduced to this new information, she also meets Amber, who is also a Light Tamer. Amber is unique. She has been forced to take care of her father after an accident. The friendship she and Jessie develop is interesting. 


My Take:
I won't lie, I liked the cover, saw romance in the description, and I was sold. Seriously though, it sounded like a book I'd be interested in and I've been looking for different paranormals to read lately. I needed a fresh perspective and I wasn't disappointed. 

Jessie is sixteen, moving to a new place, dealing with some family turmoil, is falling in insta-love for the first time, so it was pretty easy to sympathize with her. That's a ton of stuff going on at once. I liked her because she has spunk, thinks for herself, and is really pretty funny. 

Then there is the relationship with Caleb. I'll admit, Caleb sounds hot, but it took me a bit to warm up to him for some reason. I can't really put my finger on why. I ended up loving him though and I love how he dotes on Jessie. I thought it was funny that he could hear her thoughts all the time, but she could only hear his on "special" occasions, until the end anyway. ;) 

Amber is just flat-out funny. Eccentric, is putting it mildly when it comes to Amber. She made me laugh from the minute I met her. The thing I'm curious about with Amber is what role her father's accident and how her dead brother will play into the story. Is there more to that or was it simply an accident? I felt bad that her shot at romance was shattered by bad Otto. Bummer for her. 

As for the story...I liked it. It was a different spin on the paranormal, although I'm still not exactly sure what a Light Tamer is. I mean, I know that they need the light, have unique healing abilities and mind control, but I'm trying to understand their purpose. Are they a special kind of spirit or something? I do like how the story developed and liked that there was more to Jessie's abilities and history of her family. I was a bit nervous toward the end, but I was happy with the ending. I'm curious to see what will happen in the next book. Overall, the humor, drama, love, and suspense kept me interested till the end. 


For more information go to:Devyn Dawson
Available at Amazon and Barnes and Noble.


GIVEAWAYS
Card and Key Chain for US ONLY

Teaser Tuesdays 4/24


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted my MizB at Should Be Reading.

Here are the rules:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share 2 "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn't give too much away! You don't want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the TITLE and AUTHOR too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser.

"My fundage was running low, and an email to my Hook-up Doctor account meant possible money. Money meant a car. Cars equaled more chicks. You get the picture."-Kindle location 20 of 2678

This book is available for only $.99 on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

April 23, 2012

Whisper of Memory (Whispering Woods 2) by Brinda Berry Review

Weapons training and winter formals… a deadly combination

All Mia ever wanted was to fit in at Whispering Woods High. But being a portal-finder who dates a guy from another dimension sort of makes it hard. A month ago her brother disappeared, and agents from the IIA began policing people’s movements through dimensions. She’d trusted Dr. Bleeker from the local university when he’d told her the IIA were the bad guys. But even a girl with an extraordinary ability to sense things can make mistakes.

Now two people are dead, and as a portal gatekeeper for the IIA, Mia needs to find Dr. Bleeker before he hurts anyone else. And her boyfriend Regulus, an Agent for the IIA, carries secrets of his own. Between learning about weaponry, finding the perfect dress for the winter formal, and catching bad guys, who has time to fit in?
Whisper of Memory (Whispering Woods 2) by Brinda Berry-YA Fantasy, Parnormal, Romance
Kindle format given by author for review/blog tour


My Take:
For some reason, I've been reading a lot of time travel or portal books lately. Must be a current trend. Whisper of Memory was a fast read and a good addition to the series.


I felt like we get to know Mia better in this story. Her character became more real and likable in this book. I also liked that the relationship she started with Regulus in the first book has more significance in this book. I'm a sucker for love, so I was happy to see more about them in this book. 


The supporting character I like the most is Arizona. I really want to see more of him in the series. I would go as far to say he may be my favorite character overall. He makes me laugh. 


The story was somewhat predictable, so I had a pretty good idea of how the story was going to end. However, I enjoyed the seeing how the story developed. I felt like the writing and story made progress and definitely held my attention. I would read the next book in the story to see what happens next. 



For more information go to: Brinda Berry WEB FACEBOOK TWITTER

There are TWO Giveaways for this tour. Please check this POST to enter!





April 22, 2012

Unbreak My Heart by Melissa Walker Review



Unbreak My Heart by Melissa Walker-YA Contemporary
Kindle format given by Bloomsbury USA Publishing for review. (Thank you!)

Summary:
Clementine Williams has a broken heart. She fell for her best friend's boyfriend and now her friends have turned their back on her. Now, it's the summer after her sophomore year of high school and her parents are taking she and her sister sailing for the summer. Clem isn't looking forward to being stuck on a boat with her family, while trying to mend her broken heart. But then she meets James. He is on the same sailing path with his father. Clem and James develop a friendship that may turn into more, if Clem can heal her broken heart. 

My Take:
Let me start by saying that I would have LOVED spending the whole summer on a boat in high school! How fun! However, Clem isn't real excited about it. I understand that she feels like she needs to try to mend her friendship with her best friend, but seriously, what a great opportunity. 

Not only do I love the name Clementine, but I really connected with Clem's character. I'm twice as old as she is, but thinking back to that age I could really identify with her feelings. I never fell for my best friend's guy, but I would have been devastated to lose that friendship. In fact, I'm still best friends with my childhood bestie. My heart hurt for her. I was mad that her best friend chose to believe her boyfriend over Clem. Ethan was just as much, if not more to blame for the events that happened. I really liked that the story alternated between the past and present. It helped to explain how her heart was broken. 

When James entered the story, I immediately fell in love with his character. He's funny, kind of goofy, sincere, and honest. James has his own issues that he's dealing with, but yet he is always positive and wants to be there for Clem. I love that he had a crush on her right away, but held back and got to know her. Once she was ready to open her heart to him, it was perfect. In a way, I felt like they both healed each other. 

Unbreak My Heart is a beautiful story about self discovery, friendship, and first love. I always enjoy reading these types of stories. It's a positive story with good messages that YA and adults alike can relate to. For more information go to: Melissa Walker.
This book will release on May 22, 2012 and is available for pre-order on Amazon and Barnes and Noble






In My Mailbox 4/22


In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren. The purpose is to share what books you’ve received that week. I may not post reviews for all of the books I feature, but it’s a great way to spread the word about some great book finds.


For Review

Borrowed

Purchased

Mentions

***A very special thank you to Ishita@ Designs by Fishy for creating a beautiful new blog design for me***



April 21, 2012

Changed (Marked Duology 2) by Jennifer Snyder Cover Reveal

It is my pleasure to show you the cover for Changed, which is the second book in the Marked Duology Series by Jennifer Snyder. Changed is scheduled to release on May 21, 2012


Would you fight to the death to prove you are worthy to stand beside the one you loved?
Eighteen-year-old Tessa Morganton’s life has flipped upside down. After learning Jace’s secret and discovering the man she’d thought all her life was her father isn’t, she must also cope with the reality of what she’s now become—a werewolf.
Tessa tries to maintain her normal life while her body changes more and more each night as the full moon grows closer, but when Shelby comes back to pay her a visit, Tessa soon realizes turning into a wolf may not be the only dilemma she will have to overcome.
As the Wolf Moon draws near, Tessa uncovers some things about Jace and Shelby’s relationship and exactly what Pack Law entails in the untraditional situation Jace has created for them all.


Excerpt:

An itch began to spread slowly from my bite mark and across my entire body. It never seemed to be satisfied, and I worried that if I continued to scratch it the way that I was, I might draw blood. My eyes flickered toward my bedroom window while I anxiously awaited Jace’s tapping. When was he going to be here? I didn’t want to change in my bedroom!
And then he was there—his smiling face filled with excitement, staring at me through the glass. I pushed the window open, but didn’t smile in return.
“Ready?” he asked, his amber eyes twinkling in my bedroom light as he removed the screen from my window.
I shook my head. “No, I’m not feeling so well.”
“You’ll be all right; it’ll go away shortly. Trust me, Tessa, come outside,” he whispered into the night, his gaze shifting toward the full moon.
Even though my legs were trembling beneath me, I still managed to climb out my window without falling on my face thanks to Jace. The cool night air gently swept across my skin, cooling my itch upon contact. Jace took my hand in his and slowly we began walking away from my house and out into my darkened backyard.
I took in a few deep, measured breaths while we walked and didn’t glance over my shoulder once to see if my mother was watching for me. I didn’t care if she saw me; it was the least of my problems at the moment.
The beautiful full moon caught my attention as we neared the edge of my yard, and I stared at it, mesmerized. My pulse quickened. I could feel it pulsating in my fingertips and wondered if it was as loud to Jace’s ears as it was to mine.
“Let’s go back a little farther tonight,” Jace insisted.
I nodded, grateful for the first time in my life that my parents and I lived on three acres of land. Stepping over twigs and weaving through branches, we made our way farther into the wooded lot. I found it extremely easy to see where I was going. My eyesight had grown amazingly clear.
When Jace finally came to a stop, I shifted my gaze to his face and marveled in the look of childlike excitement etched into his features. I wished I could feel even a tiny portion of that right now. Instead, all I felt was a crippling fear eating away at me.
“You’re shaking. You okay?” Jace asked, gripping both of my clammy hands in his and looking directly in my eyes.
A tiny hysterical giggle escaped me. “No, I’m not okay. I’m scared to death right now. I’m so freaking scared that this is going to hurt just as badly as being bitten did.”
His face softened, his excitement washing away at my words to become replaced by an intense look of guilt. “It won’t, not if you don’t fight it. You’ll be all right. I promise. I’ll be here with you the whole time.”
My lips formed into a hesitant smile as I looked deeply into his eyes. The smile was more for show than anything. Don’t fight it? How did you not fight something like this? 


Go to Goodreads to add to your TBR!