November 29, 2011

Charmfall by Chloe Neill ARC contest/release info

Charmfall (Dark Elite Book3) will release on January 3, 2012. Check out the ARC (Advanced Reader Copies) contest on http://www.chloeneill.com/?p=1347#comment-5714 to register to win!

November 28, 2011

Shattered Soul by Jennifer Snyder Review

Shattered Soul by Jennifer Snyder-YA Contemporary
Kindle format purchased on Smashwords

Summary:
Seth Bradson is hiding from his life behind a drug addiction. Then he meets Ali Carson and she becomes his drug of choice. While under the influence of crystal meth, Seth allows Ali to try it too. This begins the unraveling of their lives and their relationship. 
*This book contains graphic content.


My Take: 
Ok, so I was hesitant to read the book for one reason, it's sad. However, I'm glad I did even though I was tense  and emotional throughout. It is a dark book with disturbing situations, but JS has such an incredible ability to give you an almost virtual reading experience. I felt like I was with Seth throughout the whole book. I could picture what he looked like, where he was, what he was doing, and I felt like I could feel his pain. I literally wanted to reach through and pull him out to help him. He's not just some druggie kid looking to get high. This is the only life he knows and doesn't have a clue how to get out of it. Yes, it's a story about Seth and Ali, but the real story to me was Seth and how one simple decision can affect your life so traumatically. I knew this book would have no happy ending, so I had to come away with the story of a boy, looking to find his way through life and love. Once I thought of it that way, I was able to digest the difficult subject matter of the book. For more information, go to http://jennifersnydersblog.blogspot.com/. 4 out of 5 stars

November 27, 2011

Romero (The Moreno Brothers Series Book 4) by Elizabeth Reyes

Romero (The Moreno Brothers Series Book 4) by Elizabeth Reyes-Adult Contemporary
Kindle format purchased on Amazon

Summary:
Isabel Montenegro is a middle school teacher with an impressive family background. She meets Ramon Romero at a Moreno family function and can't seem to get him out of her head. This is crazy since he's lewd, crude, and has a hot temper; the complete opposite of what she is attracted too. Not to mention, what her family would think of him. 


Romero has never felt anything like how he feels about Izzy. He doesn't want to lose her, so he does everything he can to keep his temper under control. However, her sister doesn't approve and sets out to test their relationship by trying to set Izzy up with other men. Will Romero be able to keep his intense nature under control?


My Take:
I honestly did not like Romero in the other books, but fell in love with him in this one! His intensity is almost too much to bear at times, bordering on crazy/scary. However, I've said it before and I'll say it again, Elizabeth Reyes has a way to make you fall in love with these guys even when you really didn't think you could or want to! I loved that Izzy and Romero came from different worlds, but yet find common ground to make their relationship work. Romero is definitely a passionate man (fanning myself) who knows what he wants. Without revealing too much, I was proud of Izzy and overall thrilled with the outcome of the book. Seriously, this is one my favorite series! I SO look forward to Sal's story releasing in December 2011! I have my suspicions of who his leading lady will be and can't WAIT to see if I'm right! Once again, please go get the books in this series! For more information, go to www.elizabethreyes.com. 5 out of 5 stars







November 26, 2011

Sweet Sofie (The Moreno Brothers Series Book 3) by Elizabeth Reyes

Sweet Sofie (The Moreno Brothers Series Book 3) by Elizabeth Reyes-Mature YA
Kindle format purchased on Amazon

Summary:
Sofia Moreno is the baby sister of three very overprotective brothers. How in the world can a girl get a date with brothers like that you ask? By falling in love with one of their friends!


Eric Diego has grown up with the Moreno family. He watches Sofia as she matures, falling more in love with her each day.


When they can finally be together, they learn that mature relationships go through challenges and obstacles. Can they work through them in order to be together in the end?


My Take:
This book is a novella in the series and it has a different feel as you read it. It's given from Sofie and Eric's perspective starting from age 10 for Sofie. I liked the back story of how their relationship developed. It really clarified their relationship from what you learn in the other books in the series. It made me remember that newness of being young and in love. Also, the feelings of 'Is this relationship enough' and 'Am I missing out'. I love that Elizabeth Reyes puts those issues in her books. Love is not always sunshine and rainbows and Reyes incorporates that in this series. Although this wasn't my favorite book in the series and I actually like Sofie and Eric better in the other books, it is a must read if you're going to read the series. For more information go to: www.elizabethreyes.com. 3 out of 5 stars

Always Been Mine (The Moreno Brothers Series Book 2) by Elizabeth Reyes

Always Been Mine (The Moreno Brothers Series Book 2) by Elizabeth Reyes-Adult Contemporary
Kindle format purchased on Amazon

Summary:
Valerie and Alex have always had an intense relationship. They've gone back forth together over the years until one day, Val's had enough. After being apart for a year, Alex and Val reconnect at a family party. They both realize that they aren't really over one another. The problem is, can Valerie open her heart up again? Because of her doubts, she tells Alex that she's involved with someone else. Alex is determined to win Val back. However, neither one of them know that there is danger lurking in the shadows. Will they get through it together?


My Take:
I say it again, I LOVE this series!!!! This was my favorite book so far. I truly do love a strong Alpha male! Alex is just so intense and certainly yummy! Not only was the romance well done in this book, but there are other complexities to the story. They both had some pretty serious situations during their time apart and because of that, I think they were both able to appreciate the relationship they ultimately developed. I also enjoyed the suspense of the storyline and as a woman, genuinely felt Val's fear. Elizabeth Reyes definitely has a knack for making you fall in love with her characters! Can't wait to see what happens to Val and Alex in the future! MUST MUST have more Alex! For more information go to: www.elizabethreyes.com. 5 out of 5 stars

Recommended Read of the Week

Elizabeth Reyes
Forever Mine (The Moreno Brothers Book 1)
(* see posted review for details)

Forever Mine (The Moreno Brothers Book 1) by Elizabeth Reyes

Forever Mine (The Moreno Brothers Series Book 1) by Elizabeth Reyes-Mature YA
Kindle Format purchased on Amazon

Summary:
When Sarah's mom is sent to jail, she's forced to move to California to live with her aunt. She not only has to leave home, she has to leave behind her best friend Sydney. Sarah makes it her goal to save money to move back home to Sydney. That is...until she meets Angel Moreno. 


Angel is the youngest of the Moreno Brother's. He's popular, gorgeous and is Sarah's dream guy. His only issue is that he believes guys can't just be friends with girls. Little does he know, Sarah's best friend Sydney, is a guy. 


Sarah tries keeping the truth about Sydney from Angel, but as their relationship grows it becomes harder to keep it a secret. 


My Take:
This is one of my new favorite series! I read this one because it was recommended by another author and I haven't put them down since! I've read all 4 books in the series in the last 3 days. What I like about Angel and Sarah's story is the feeling of that first true love. Angel's intensity for Sarah was so sweet. It was fun to see him first learn what those feelings were and how he handled them. Sarah got on my nerves at times, but by the end I felt more connected to her character as their relationship developed. As you continue on in the series, even though they aren't the main characters in the other books, you get to see how their relationship grows and changes. I highly recommend this book and the Moreno Brother's Series! For more information, go to www.elizabethreyes.com. 4 out of 5 stars

Choice by Jennifer Snyder Review

Choice by Jennifer Snyder-YA Paranormal
Kindle Format purchased on Amazon

Summary:
Jet Mathews is a seventeen year old boy who quickly learns that there are situations that were never meant to happen. In regards to Jet's life, he is given the opportunity to make a choice. 


My Take:
I loved getting to know Jet better in this short story. It was interesting to see how he was given a choice to determine his fate. Choice helped to answer some questions for me after reading Touch.  I look forward to seeing where his story goes in the series. This short story goes along with Touch, that is also part of the Hereafter series which will be released late 2012. For more information and work by
this Author, go to http://jennifersnydersblog.blogspot.com/. 3 out of 5 stars



His Wife For A While by Donna Fasano Review

His Wife For A While by Donna Fasano-Adult Contemporary
Kindle format purchased on Amazon

Summary:
According to his grandfather's will, Ben Danvers had to marry in order to keep his family's orchard. He finds a willing participant in Chelsea Carson, who has conditions of her own. She wants a baby. Their plan is to marry and annul the marriage once she becomes pregnant, but they don't count on actually falling for each other. 


My Take:
This really was a sweet story. Even though I knew how it would end up, I still enjoyed getting to know the characters. Chelsea's story was intriguing and I liked seeing her move past her doubts about love. They developed a sweet relationship full of hope. For more information go to
http://www.donnafasano.blogspot.com/. 4 out of 5 stars

November 23, 2011

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games 1) by Suzanne Collins review

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games 1) by Suzanne Collins-YA
Kindle format purchased on Amazon

Summary:
Panem, formerly known as North America, is divided into 12 districts. This capitol city forces one boy and one girl from each district each year to compete in the Hunger Games. In these games the contestants must kill each other off in order to survive. The winner of the games is awarded prizes for their themselves and their district.


Katniss Everdeen is sixteen years old and is the sole provider for her family. When her little sister is chosen for the Games, Katniss steps in to take her place. She quickly becomes a favorite in the games. However, the Game forces her to make difficult choices about life and love. 


My Take:
Ok, some of you may not like this, but I didn't love it. That being said, I think it's a great book for a YA. The concept is predictable and somewhat elementary. I felt like I had to gear myself up to read it and could easily put the book down. However, I will read the next two books in the series. I'm hoping the next two will tie the series together into a more interesting story. For more information go to http://www.suzannecollinsbooks.com/. 2 out of 5 stars

November 20, 2011

A Life That Fits (Toronto Series) by Heather Wardell Review

A Life That Fits (Toronto Series) by Heather Wardell-Women's Fiction
Kindle format purchased on Amazon

Summary:
Andrea returns home from a business trip to find that her boyfriend, Alex,  of 14 years is leaving her for another woman who is her exact opposite. With this startling news, she decides to make changes in her life to get Alex to come back to her. However, the changes she is making and the discoveries about herself may not work with the "old" Andrea and Alex anymore. 


My Take:
I really enjoy Heather Wardell's writing style. Every book that I've read of hers has had a different concept. It's so refreshing! What I liked and identified with in this book was the journey of self discovery. It was fun to watch Andrea learn about herself. I was so proud of her when she realized that she really needed to be comfortable in her own skin before she could truly let someone else into her life. This book will make you feel good, because it's real. For more information on this Author and her other works, go to www.heatherwardell.com. 5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire Review

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire-Contemporary Romance
Kindle format purchased on Amazon

Summary:
Abby Abernathy starts college with one goal in mind: a brand new start. She wants to leave her old life behind, with the help of her best friend America. When the new semester begins, her new start may be challenged by the campus bad boy.


Travis Maddox makes his living at night in a college fight ring and spends his days as a college co-ed. He is the object of desire for all the ladies on campus. He's covered in tattoos and gives off a devil may care attitude. That is, until he meets Abby. 


Travis makes a bet with Abby that if he wins his fight, she has to live with him for a month. When Abby loses the bet to Travis, both of their lives are changed forever. Can they both let go of their pasts to make this new relationship work?


My Take:
I LOVED this book! I literally couldn't put the book down and read it in one night. The title for the book describes the book accurately! The story was different than anything that I've read in a while. It's not your typical girl meets bad boy scenario. I fell in love with Abby and Travis. I was rooting for them to make it! There were times that I wanted to scream at Abby for all of her angst, and times when I was truly scared of Travis. The relationship was dysfunctional, but hot. I also loved the relationship Abby had with her best friend America. They really looked out for each other and had a genuine friendship. The Author had the knack to suck me in immediately. I will definitely be reading more of her work and look forward to future projects. In fact, I'd like to see more of the Maddox Brothers! Well done Ms. McGuire! This book is a YA read, but has more mature content and is more suitable for the older YA. For more information on this book and the Author go to: http://www.jamiemcguire.com/
5 out of 5 Stars

Reckoning (Strange Angels 5) by Lili St. Crow review

Reckoning (Strange Angels 5) by Lili St. Crow-YA Paranormal
Kindle format purchased on Amazon

Summary:
This is the 5th and final book in the series. Now that Dru Anderson is a full svetocha, she's in even more danger. She's been on the run from djamphirs and bloodthirsty suckers. Dru, Christophe, and Graves and crew try to find a safe place to hide. Will they all make it out alive and will Dru choose who she wants to be with in this love triangle?


My Take:
I've been a big fan of this series from the start. Dru is a heroin that you can relate to. This final book, as usual, was action packed and full of adventure. I love that Dru always comes out on top. The issue I had with this ending to the series, is that I felt that there were still some unanswered questions. That being said, because of the turmoil throughout Dru's life, maybe that's the best and only way to end it. If you haven't read the series, I do recommend it. The author has such talent of making you feel like you know the characters personally. For more information, check out http://www.lilithsaintcrow.com/journal/. 4 out of 5 stars

November 17, 2011

Song of the day

UNKLE-With You In My Head

Fury (Fury Trilogy) by Elizabeth Miles review

Fury by Elizabeth Miles-YA Paranormal
Kindle format purchased from Amazon

Summary-
Emily Winter is looking forward to her winter break in Ascension, Maine. She will finally get the chance to spend some time with her crush. The problem is, her crush is her best friend's boyfriend. 


Chase Singer is from the other side of town. His social standing starts to unravel and the secret he's been keeping is catching up to him. 


Three mystery girls show up in town to decide who gets to pay for their mistakes. This time around, it's Emily and Chase. 


My Take:
The book was well written and kept me interested to the end. The character development was good and the concept was interesting. I appreciated the moral of the story. I kept thinking that it was a really great book while I was reading it, but after finishing it, I have some unanswered questions that are nagging me. For example, was it necessary to have Chase in the story? Will he play a role in the overall picture?   At this point I'm thinking the book should have showcased Emily more and left Chase out, unless he will reappear at a later time. What is the history of these girls in relation to the town? Why not more info on Drea? Because of these unanswered questions, I will read the next book in the series. For more information about this book and the Author, check out her website at elizabethmilesbooks.com.

November 15, 2011

Touch by Jennifer Snyder review

Touch by Jennifer Snyder-YA Paranormal
Kindle format purchased on Amazon

Summary:
Rowan Harper is a seventeen year old girl who is trying to cope with the suicide of her mother. She soon realizes that she has special abilities that she inherited from her mother. This revelation also introduces Jet, a dead boy,  into her life. She begins to learn how to manage these changes with Jet by her side. 


My Take:
This is a novella, so keep that in mind when you begin this story. I AM interested in the concept and look forward to see where the story/series goes. The story is well written and clear for the reader to visualize the characters. I would have liked to have seen more development and detail in the relationship between Rowan and Jet and less on the death of her mother. The story between Rowan and Jet and their adventures will make an intriguing story line for future projects. For more information, check out the Author's site at http://jennifersnydersblog.blogspot.com/.

Breaking Dawn Countdown

3 more sleeps!!!!

November 14, 2011

The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines review

The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines-YA Contemporary
Kindle format purchased on Amazon

Summary:
Ashton Gray is the preachers daughter and feels she needs to uphold the "perfect" image for her family and town hero boyfriend, Sawyer Vincent. However, Ashton is unsatisfied with her "perfect" life and turns to Sawyer's cousin, Beau, while Sawyer goes on a family vacation. 


Beau Vincent is the misunderstood town bad boy. His attraction to Ashton is palpable. He's loved her since they were kids, but Beau is torn between wanting to be with Ash and ruining his relationship with his cousin. Guess what he decides????


My Take:
I LOVED this book! This is a book I will read again and again. I wanted to keep the summary short, because I want you all to read the book without giving too much away. I love Ashton's conflicted emotions about following her heart or doing what's expected. And Beau....he's just plain yummy! Sawyer was annoying to me until he became real near the end. Only then did I have SOME compassion for him. The fire between Ashton and Beau was just too hot and poor Sawyer never had a chance! Please go read this book, like right NOW! For more information check out Abbi's website at www.abbbiglines.com.



Breathe by Abbi Glines review

Breathe by Abbi Glines-YA Contemporary
read on Kindle purchased on Amazon

Summary:
Sadie White is a seventeen year old girl who has taken a job with a prominent family during her summer break in order to provide for herself and her single pregnant mother. Once the family arrives, Sadie finds out the owner is a famous teen rock star. 


Jax Stone is used to fans falling at his feet, but is fascinated that Sadie seems immune to his charms. He is hesitant to start a relationship with her due to his crazy rock and roll world, but their connection can't be ignored. By the end of the summer, they both find that they can't breathe without each other. 


My Take:
I had butterflies the whole time I was reading this. I felt Sadie struggle with handling the responsibility of being the sole provider for her family while trying to be a "normal" teenager. I loved her friendship with Marcus and would love to hear more about him. I was honestly torn between wanting her to be with Marcus or Jax.  In the end, Sadie and Jax had a connection you couldn't debate. The book was well written and hard to put down! Hope you enjoy as much as I did! For more information, check out Abbi's website at www.abbiglines.com.

The Game of Love by Jeanette Murray review

The Game of Love by Jeanette Murray-Adult Romance
Kindle format purchased on Amazon


Summary-
Chris St. James is a retired pro-tennis player who moves to a small town to become the high school tennis coach. Her last relationship with an NHL player ended badly and left her feeling skeptical of relationships, especially with other professional athletes. 


Brett Wallace is a retired NFL player who moved home after an injury to coach the high school football team. He too is gun shy about relationships due to a bad divorce from a money hungry ex.


The two develop a relationship with the no strings attached mentality that quickly turns into something more. 


My take-
Overall liked the book. Funny thing is, I identified with Brett more than Chris. I enjoyed seeing them both recover from their past relationships to find a loving relationship with each other.  Even though the book doesn't go into detail about the sports, as a former athlete and current coach, I can identify with  the competitive drive they each have. I aslo liked the relationship Brett has with his family. It was nice to see Chris open up to his family and learn that there can be love and acceptance within a family. In short-sweet, funny, nice easy read. Check out the Author's website for more info. http://jeanettemurray.com/

November 13, 2011

Thank you!

I would like to say a special thank you to my very talented friend and Author, Tiffany King, for encouraging me to start this blog! Please check out Tiffany's The Saving Angels Series: Meant to Be and Forgotten Souls @authortiffanyjking.blogspot.comBoth books are quality reads and Forgotten Souls will leave you anxiously waiting for the third and final book in the series, The Ascended, due to come out sometime in December.

Book List

I made a book page of books that I've read and recommend. I will add more as I read and as I go through more of my library. :) If you have a book you want me to read, please let me know! Hope you find this list helpful. If you have any questions about a specific book, send me a note. Happy reading!

November 12, 2011

Let's get it started!

Hello to all my fellow readers! This is my first post and thought I'd just say hello and tell you all how excited I am to get started! I get to read a few books a week and can't wait to share my thoughts and comments with you. I will also be sharing about books that I have read in the past, key reads and recommendations. Hope you enjoy!